Education Briefs

Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Crowder announces Fall 2020 Dean’s List

Crowder College announced the fall 2020 Dean’s list recipients. A total of 617 students earned recognition by taking at least 12 or more college credit hours and achieving a 3.5 grade point average for the semester. Local students on the list include:

Butterfield: Alexis Coursey.

Cassville: Zachary Beranek, Samantha Blangger, Kobe Blisard, Laura Burton, Kimberly Coolidge, Michaela Cotton, Eyricka Frisbie, Dylan Garner, Mary Hayse, Elexia Hobbs, William King, Savannah Lawrence, Angelina Liggett, Natasha McCaslin, Abigail McCollough, Taylor McDonald, Kateline Mildfeldt, Michael Ortiz, Macey Parsons, Angela Periman, Robrt Preddy, Austin Reed-Utter, Camden Roller, Jacob Thomas, Caison Uthe, Nicole Walker, Samantha Webb, Joshua Wilkins, Ariana Williams and Preston Yunk.

Exeter: Quartny Allen, Calista Burns, Sarah Burton, Haylee Hobbs, Wyatt Hoppes and Shalea Hughes.

Purdy: Tatum Burt, Shelby Haskins, Maria Hernandez Reyes and Mason Schallert.

Seligman: Carley Black, Leland Colf, Michael Foster, Karlea Holder and Liliana Outhouse.

Washburn: Sklyer Bockley, Tyler Boxley, Ashlyn Pulliam and Maggie Robbins.

Wheaton: Lillian Allen, Emily Gonzalez and Veronica Rey.

Northwest announces fall 2020 honor rolls

The Office of the Registrar at Northwest Missouri State University announced students named to the Academic or President's honor rolls at the end of the 2020 fall semester. To be included on the Academic Honor Roll, a student must carry a minimum of 12 credit hours and attain a grade-point average of 3.50 or above on a 4.00 scale. Students named to the President's Honor Roll have attained a perfect 4.00 GPA for the semester. Local students earning an honor include: Colleen D. Rukabina, Shell Knob, Academic Honor Roll.

Graves named to dean's list at Culver-Stockton

Culver-Stockton College recently recognized 201 students on its dean's list for academic achievement during the fall 2020 semester. Tasha Graves, of Exeter, was named to the list. Students on the dean's list have earned between a 3.5 and 3.99 grade point average and were enrolled in a minimum of 12 hours with no grade lower than a C.

Washburn native graduates from Kansas State

More than 1,415 students completed degree requirements from Kansas State University in fall 2020. Among them was Washburn native Jay Henry, who earned a bachelor of science degree in agriculture.

Cassville student chosen for prestigious Honors College

Cassville High School senior Olivia Holman is among 30 high achieving students from Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska who have been chosen for Pittsburg State University’s Honors College. Holman will be majoring in psychology. First consideration was given to students with an ACT superscore of 28 or higher and a 3.5 unweighted GPA, with second consideration to those with an ACT superscore of 25 to 27 and a 3.5 unweighted GPA. The top 12 will receive the Presidential Scholar Award, the next 12 will receive the University Scholar Award, and the final six will receive the Crimson and Gold Scholar Award; together, they’ll be part of a living-learning community and have a range of educational and community engagement experiences.

Eagle Rock native inducted into Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

Cyndy Calbat, of Eagle Rock, was recently initiated into the Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi at Texas Tech University. Phi Kappa Phi is the nation's oldest and most selective all-discipline collegiate honor society.

Calbat is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation only and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors are eligible for membership. Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.