Preparations underway for 52nd BarCo Youth Camp

Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Donations, clothes sought for camp at Roaring River

Application letters are due by Friday for children wishing to attend the 2017 Barry County Youth Camp, which will be held May 30 through June 2 at Camp Smokey at Roaring River State Park. Those who are accepted will receive a letter of notification and a bus schedule for transportation to the camp around May 15.

This will be the 52nd year for the camp, providing camping experiences for children ages 7-10 who might not otherwise be able to afford a camping experience. Organizers work with the Monett schools and other districts in the county to find eligible students.

The week-long experience offers campers crafts, games, hiking through the woods, swimming, educational field trips and special sessions to learn about safety, peer pressure cooperation and other life’s lessons. The camp concludes each year with a carnival.

“The importance of the camp becomes more evident when you realize that most of these children would never get this opportunity were it not for the generous donations of goods, food, time and money from businesses, organizations and individuals,” said Jane James, chairperson.

Leaders this year include Sarah Pfitzner, Summer Sullivan and John Verstraete as camp directors. Sandi Pfitzner will again serve as camp nurse. Serving as cooks will be Greg Davis, Melvin Casper, Bob Mareth and Josh Osterloh.

Donations of appropriate clothing for boys and girls ages 7 to 10 are again being accepted. These include swimsuits, especially for boys, lightweight blankets of the thermal type. Donations may be dropped off at Bremer/Willis Machine at Seventh and Broadway or contacting the chairperson James at 235-3580.

The Barry County Youth Camp is completely funded by donations from individuals, organizations, businesses and churches in Barry County.

Persons interested in helping with the camp in any way, either on a daily basis during that week or by become an active member can contact James or any committee member.

Serving on the committee this year are: Jane James, Sarah Pfitzner, Summer Sullivan, John Verstaete, Gail Ellis, Julie Wages, Cara and Josh Osterloh, Greg Davis, Ruby Hartman, Effie Collins, Claudia Nolan, Trinity and Russ Hartin, Margaret Holle, LouEllen Honeycutt, Cynthia Martin, Bob and Marlene Mareth, Melvin Casper, Kayren Bremer, Kami Willis, Barbara Oetker, Barbara Henson and Sandi Pfitzner.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: