14 students win Little Joe scholarships

Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Each Barry County school district has winner

The Little Joe Starchman Scholarship Fund Committee recently announced the 14 winners of its scholarships this year, with each school district in Barry County being represented.

Each student will receive a $1,000 scholarship, which is $500 for each student's first two semesters in college, and the funds will be paid directly to the schools each student chooses.

Cassville led the group in the number of recipients with five. Winners included: Kristeen Albert, daughter of Brian and Melanie Gipson; Mikala Deffenbaugh, daughter of Robert and Lisa Deffenbaugh; Ethan Lowery, son of Bryan Lowery; Jade Null, daughter of Jared and Niki Null; and Mariah Willard; daughter of Preston and Sherry Willard.

Exeter students receiving scholarships included: Michael Brattin, son of Rick and Lucretia Brattin, and Nathan Alverson, son of James and Teresa Alverson.

Southwest students receiving scholarships included: Montana Hendrix, daughter of Rex and Kara Hendrix, and Rhianna Rickett, daughter of Suzanne Williams.

Wheaton had one scholarship winner in Matthew Hickman, son of Joe Hickman and Anita Anderson.

Purdy students receiving scholarships included: Ruben Ibarra, son of Onesimo and Maria Ibarra, and Deana Burch.

Monett students receiving scholarships included: Casey Moller, daughter of Randy and Terry Moller, and Breanna Homfeldt, daughter of Brian and Stephanie Homfeldt.

A reception for the recipients and their parents was held at the Barry County Museum on April 30.

The scholarships are given in honor of Joe Starchman, a former Cassville student who died more than a decade ago. The money funding the scholarships was raised for Starchman to receive a heart and lung transplant, but with his death preceding the transplant, the Starchman family opted to offer scholarships in his memory.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: