Through the Years

Thursday, October 17, 2013

50 Years Ago

Oct. 23, 1963

Mrs. Joyce Vaughan, new secretary of the Cassville Chamber of Commerce, will assume her duties on Monday, Oct. 28. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Meador, of Cassville, and a graduate of Cassville High School. Her husband, Charles Vaughan, is a teacher at the Cross Hollows Elementary School.

Mrs. Kathleen Speer has resigned as the secretary of the First Baptist Church in Cassville to accept employment with Willis Insurance Agency. She has served as the church secretary since 1956. Mrs. Edna Edie will be replacing Kathleen as the new church secretary.

Donna Edmondson, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Maurice Edmondson, of Cassville, was elected president of the Southwest Missouri District of the Future Teachers of America at the organization's annual meeting at Southwest Missouri State College in Springfield last week.

Southwest senior class officers for the 1963-64 school year are Russell Roller, Geniece Roller, Linda McNabb and Mickey Mitchell. The class sponsors are Edward Spencer and Kathryn Leonard.

The Ozark Jamboree program, which culminated the three-day event, was held at the American Legion Home Saturday night with a capacity crowd in attendance. Many were turned away because of lack of seating.

40 Years Ago

Oct. 31, 1973

The Cassville Lions Club is celebrating it 25th anniversary. The club was started Oct. 25, 1948. The two remaining charter members of the Cassville Lions Club program are Bill Barber and Carl Fanning. John Gardiner is currently the club president.

The Exeter Tiger Basketball team members include: Randy Lacey, Rick Edie, Steve Erwin, Scott Stephens, Floyd Reed, Howard Frazier, Lloyd Burchfield, Byron Stephens, Tim Marney, Bobby Stephens and Ray Morris. Sam Knight is the Tiger coach this year.

The Southwest Trojan Basketball team members include: Bob Chappel, Ken Vanzandt, David Paul, Jerry Ellis, Del Tilford, John Weathers, John Raucstadt, David Pendergraft, Steve Pendergraft, Greg Alley, Steve Brown and Raymond Vanzandt. They will be coached by Tony Frieze.

Mrs. Irma Jean Timmons, business instructor at Cassville High School, was named chairman of the Southwest District Business Association last week in teachers meetings held in Springfield.

30 Years Ago

Oct. 12, 1983

The Southwest Eighth Grade Volleyball will be coached this year by Jana Gibbons. The team members are Jacinda Ledenham, Kathy Sickles, Wendy Hall, Sheri Cate, Lindy Dye, Paula McDaniel, Rachel Beck, Carla Resz, Becky Self, Carolyn Burns, Charlene West, Lisa Green, Shannon Johnson and Cindy Gabbard.

The Cassville High School senior class officers include: Jill Holman, president; Dean Ellis, vice president; Martha Courdin, secretary-treasurer; and Pam Triplet, David Basye and Brent Herrin, student council representatives.

Country Cottage, owned by Mr. and Mrs. David Burns in Cassville, officially opens this Thursday. The business will feature unique gifts and antiques. Mr. and Mrs. Burns moved the business here when he accepted the position of superintendent of Exeter Schools.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: