Local talent dominates regional All-Star roster

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Teams for the 34th annual boys and girls Lions All-Star Twin Classic basketball games have been announced. This year's event will be played at the Neosho High School gymnasium on June 8.

Both contests feature graduating seniors from schools in the southwest Missouri area and are designed to give the players one more opportunity to "shine" before going on to college or entering the work force.

Cassville's Emily Speakman and Kelsey Baker were selected to represent Cassville High School.

Southwest's Michaela Mitchell, Taylor Mettlach and Cady Swinde earned an invitation to the All-Star event on the girls' team while James Pettit and Jordan Epling received nods on the boys' side for the Trojans.

Purdy's Katies Hughes and Cameron Terry and Exeter's Kong Lee also will play.

Wheaton's Jory Bartkoski and Justin Yeary round out the area list.

One hundred percent of the net proceeds from the games are used to fund Lions-approved sight and hearing projects: Leader Dogs for the Blind, Mid-South Sight and Hearing Services and World Services for the Blind.

The girls' contest is set to tip at 6 p.m. immediately followed by the boys' game.

The red and white boys basketball squad is coached by Exeter head coach Jay Allen.

The team includes: Cody Fitchpatrick and Cedric O'Hara, of Pierce City; Kyler Ng, Logan St. Clair and Daniel Noah, of Seneca; Kong Lee, of Exeter; Jory Bartkoski and Justin Yeary, of Wheaton; and James Pettit and Jordan Epling, of Southwest.

The blue and white team is coached by Sarcoxie head coach Kyle Johnson.

Blue and white members include: Colin McNaught, of Liberal; Dakota Triplett and Wyatt Scott, of Golden City; Dawson Allmoslecher and Nathan Reid, of Carthage; Logan Meyers, of Diamond; Seth Losack and Ascencion Estrada, of Verona; Kyle Woods, of Monett; and Cameron Terry, of Purdy.

The girls' purple team is coached by Carthage head coach Jim Moore.

The purple team consists of: Kaili Simmons, of El Dorado Springs; Jessica McAdams, of Miller; Kelsi Wilkins, of Stockton; Mary Bergman, of Dadeville; Kristy Green, of College Heights; Chloe Shepherd and Emily Goeken, of Carthage; Grace Huff, of Sarcoxie; and Katie Hughes, of Purdy.

The girls' gold team is coached by Carl Junction head coach Tiffany Dirks.

Gold team members include: Krishna Merriman, Emily Ashley and Becca Hatfield, of Pierce City; Emily Speakman and Kelsey Baker, of Cassville; Michaela Mitchell, Taylor Mettlach and Cady Swinde, of Southwest; and Timbre Murty, of Carl Junction.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: