Cooperative schedules district meetings

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Marvin Phipps, Barry Electric Cooperative Board secretary, has announced that the cooperative's district membership meetings will be held on Feb. 11, 12 and 14.

During the district meetings, members nominate candidates to serve on the cooperative board of directors. The two candidates receiving the highest number of votes at each district meeting will be placed on the ballot for the election that will be held at the cooperative's 66th annual meeting at the First Baptist Church Family Life Center in Cassville at 1 p.m. on April 11.

The following directors terms will expire this year: David Dalton, district one; Phipps, district two; and Ray Manley, district three.

Members of district one will have the opportunity to nominate candidates for the board of directors on Monday, Feb. 11 The district one meeting will be held at the Southwest Elementary School cafeteria in Washburn.

District two members will meet at the Barry Electric Cooperative headquarters, located at 4015 Main St. in Cassville, on Feb. 14, and members of district three will meet at the Clio Community Building, on Highway 39 east of Cassville, on Feb. 12.

All of the district meetings are scheduled to begin at 7 p.m.

Barry Electric Cooperative's current board of directors includes: Dr. David Cupps, president; John Marney, vice president;

Phipps, secretary and treasurer; and Manley, Dalton, Marlee Edie, Richard Asbill, Glen Craig and Lewis Royer, directors.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: