Election to offer contested races

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

The upcoming April municipal and school board elections have attracted a dozen new candidates. A pair of local school boards and three municipalities will host contested races.

Cassville South Ward voters will have the opportunity to decide one of the local contested municipal races this spring. Incumbent Terry Heinz will be challenged by Donna Hayes. North Ward Alderman Darrell Ledenham has also filed for re-election.

Other contested races will be held in Seligman and Purdy. Although only two candidates have filed for Wheaton City Council, that election will also offer one new name.

Seligman East Ward voters will decide between two new candidates. Ed Carrothers and Gerald Harling have filed for a seat that will be vacated by Michael Steen, who did not file for re-election.

Kelly Payne, west ward alderman, filed for a new two-year term on the Seligman City Council. She is running unopposed.

A pair of new candidates have also filed for an open seat on the Purdy City Council. Ron Gray and Sean Priest will face-off in the race for the ward one alderman seat currently held by Rex Coffey, who did not re-file.

Incumbent Ken Real, Purdy Ward Two alderman, has filed for re-election to the council. He will not have a challenger in April.

Wheaton West Ward Alderman Stacy Beck has filed for a new two-year term on the council. Newcomer Ryan Henderson will join Beck on the council. Henderson has filed for an east ward alderman seat currently held by Donnie Pierpont, who has indicated he plans to move out of the city.

The Exeter, Butterfield and Washburn municipal elections will feature unopposed incumbents.

Keith Johnson, north ward alderman, and Jeff Scott, south ward alderman, have both filed for new two-year terms on the Exeter City Council.

Butterfield Mayor Tony Cope, West Ward Alderman Francis Hobbs and East Ward Alderman Carrol Hayes have filed for re-election.

Incumbents Chloe Weathers, Washburn east ward alderman, and Gerald Hinde, Washburn west ward alderman, have also filed for new two-year terms.

School board elections

A pair of local school board races feature half of the new candidates who have filed for the April elections. Only unopposed incumbents have filed for seats on the other four local school boards.

Exeter School Board incumbent Sammy Hudson-Schmidt will be challenged by five new candidates. Newcomers include Jeff Hobbs, Gene Robbins, William Roberts, Mitch Sorensen and Joseph Still. The district's other incumbent, Natalie Moseley, did not file for re-election.

Incumbents Lisa Fielder and Bob Stewart will face off against challenger Katherine Marcum for a pair of open seats on the Shell Knob School Board.

The Cassville, Southwest, Wheaton and Purdy school board elections will feature only unopposed incumbents.

John Sullivan and Carolyn Bowen have filed for new terms on the Cassville R-4 School Board, and Robert Catron and Danny Dalton have re-filed for the Southwest R-5 School Board.

Wheaton School Board members Doug Goostree and Bobby Banks and Purdy School Board incumbents Randy Henderson and Ken Terry have also filed for new two-year terms.

The municipal and school board elections will be held on Tuesday, April 3.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: