Community 2000 honors members for assisting organization

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Cassville Community 2000 hosted its second annual end-of-the-year banquet at the Rib in Cassville on Nov. 21, 2008. Jolene Howerton, Crowder College Career Services coordinator, was the guest speaker for the event.

"We appreciate the community support and the members who have given their time and resources," said Michele Holenda, SPF SIG project assistant director. "We greatly appreciate each member for their hard work and dedication."

Lonnie McCullough, Community 2000 chairman, welcomed 32 Community 2000 members and 12 Youth Advisory Board members to the 2008 banquet. Cassville Mayor Tracy Holle gave the invocation before the meal.

Timmarie Hamilton, with Community Partnership of the Ozarks, presented an ice breaker program, and Elaine Boles, Youth Advisory Board vice chairman, presented senior members of the Youth Advisory Board with service awards.

Recognized members included: James Alberson, Tyler Hammond, David Lunsford, Jessica Meadows, Chealsey Moore, Ryan Pace, Taylor Vanzandt and Natalie Ward.

Brad Hanson, Community 2000 vice president, presented the City of Cassville with an appreciation award. The plaque recognized the city for "providing support and in kind resources."

A commitment award was presented the Cassville R-IV School District. The plaque recognized the district for its commitment and dedication to the implementation of Community 2000 drug and alcohol abuse prevention programs.

The R-IV School District has implemented evidence-based prevention curriculum in first through 12th grade classes and successfully created a high school Students Against Destructive Decisions (SADD) organization.

Cassville Community 2000 also recognized several adults who helped with student alternative activities, which included movie nights, a swim party and a high school football tailgate party.

Individuals recognized for their service were Cindy Thomas, Connie McCullough, Lonnie McCullough, Jim Stepp, Dana Roller, Larry Roller, Elaine Boles, Lisa Schlichtman, Crystal Boles, Darelyn Cooper, Melissa Garland, Tina Rasmussen, Hamilton and Hanson.

Special recognition was given to Dr. Heidi Henderson, Trooper Les Wilson, Captain Dana Kammerlohr and Probation and Parole Officer Nancy Foulke for their participation in a Community 2000-sponsored town hall meeting that was held last year.

The Cassville Community 2000 banquet was funded by the SPF SIG grant and planned by Kati Rose, SPF SIG project director, and Holenda.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: