Cassville athletes claim hoops honors

Wednesday, March 11, 2020
Cassville’s Carson Roller was one of four Cassville basketball players selected to the Big 8 All-Conference West Division basketball team this season. Jared Lankford/

Quartet of local basketball players named among conference’s best

A pair of girls and boys from the Cassville high school basketball teams were recognized by the Big 8 Conference for their outstanding play this season and can now add All-Conference athlete to their collective list of achievements.

For the Lady Wildcats, Madry McCrackin was named to the Second Team, and Riley Morris was selected to the Honorable Mention squad.

On the boys’ squad, DJ White claimed Second Team honors, and Carson Roller was named to the Honorable Mention team.

The complete list is as follows:

Big 8 West All Conference Girls Basketball

First Team

Calli Beshore, Nevada

Kaesha George, Monett

Alison Bower, Nevada

Payge Dahmer, Nevada

Aliya Grotjohn, Seneca

Second Team

Madry McCrackin, Cassville

Halle Miller, Lamar

Kristen Penn, McDonald County

Tylin Heathman, Nevada

Madison McDermott, East Newton

Chelsea Beville, Seneca

Honorable Mention

Kara Morey, Lamar

Kelsey Dalton, Monett

Rita Santillan, McDonald County

Riley Morris, Cassville

Makayla French, Seneca

Regan Wilson, McDonald County

Player of the Year, Calli Beshore, Nevada

Coach of the Year, Brent Bartlett, Nevada

Big 8 West All Conference Boys Basketball

First Team

Dalton Gayman, Nevada

Kyson Lahman, East Newton

Logan Applegate, Nevada

JD Bishop, Lamar

Trevon Price, Monett

Second Team

Lucas Kimbrough, East Newton

Connor Killion, East Newton

Isiah Grotjohn, Seneca

DJ White, Cassville

Logan McNeley, Nevada

Honorable Mention

Connor O’Neal, Lamar

Layne Henning, Seneca

Lane McNeley, Nevada

Cade Smith, McDonald County

Case Tucker, Lamar

Carson Roller, Cassville

Special Mention

Brenden Yust, Seneca

Player of the Year: Dalton Gayman, Nevada

Coach of the Year: Kyle Fields, East Newton

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: