Road district, 911, ambulance board winners named

Wednesday, April 10, 2019

Write-in results fill vacancies on road district boards

A variety of races filled out the April 2 ballot for road districts and other government bodies.

Road districts

Two races emerged in Barry County. In Sugar Creek, where neither incumbent ran, a tough contest emerged where Michael Sconnell won the race over Max Duncan 76-66, securing nearly 54 percent of the vote. In the Washburn Special Road District, incumbent Jimmie Hayworth held a definite edge in winning 101-73, taking 58 percent of the vote.

In the Ash Special Road District, 25 write-in votes were cast. The leading vote recipient was Bill Banks with 7, followed by Gary Hendrix with 3, and Allen Crim, James Roller and Dale Stewart, each with 2. Nine persons each received one vote.

In the McDonald Special Road District, eight write-in votes were cast. Chad Sturgell was the apparent winner with 5. Edgar Schreiner had 2 and Gerald Daniels had the last vote.

In the Mountain Special Road District, a single write-in vote was cast for Keith Ragain.

Other races

A rather spirited race for the Barry County Emergency Services Board to represent the South came down to a less than 2 percent margin. Gary Davis, of Cassville, took the race in the end with 723 votes or 50.7 percent, compared to 701 votes for Chad Johnson, of Eagle Rock.

Seats were open without candidates for the North Stone County/Northeast Barry County Fire District board. For the four-year seats, no write-ins were filed to represent Jenkins. For representing the Ozark/Crane Creek area, Doug Reavis received 3 write-in votes, and Tom Hinkler had a single vote for the four-year seats. For the six-year seats, Reavis also received 4 write-in votes. Kevin Clark had a single vote. There was one vacancy for a two-year seat on the board, where Lonnie Brown filed and received 5 votes.

To fill the open seat on the Purdy Fire District board, incumbent Joe Grissom, who had not filed for election following his appointment to the seat, was the top vote getter with 17. David Redshaw received 3 votes. Three other persons received single votes, including Mike Bennett, who ran unopposed for the other open seat.

Four precincts cast write-in votes for the District 2 seat on the South Barry County Ambulance District board. The leading vote getter was Kirk Wynns with 6 votes. Chad Johnson had 4. Clay Newman and Michael Vasey each had 2. Eleven other persons received a single vote.

For the South Barry County District 5 seat, votes were cast in three precincts. Michael Price was a runaway winner with 16. Steve Noller, Sara Parker, Jon Nickols and Fred Doty each had 2. Eight others had a single vote.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: