Former Cassville man appointed to St. Louis Fed Advisory Council

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

The Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis has appointed Scott E. Spencer to its Community Depository Institutions Advisory Council (CDIAC) for a three-year term starting in 2019. Spencer, formerly of Cassville, is vice chairman, president and CEO of Sterling Bank, headquartered in Poplar Bluff.

The council was established by the St. Louis Fed in 2011 and comprises 12 executives of smaller financial institutions headquartered across the Federal Reserve’s Eighth District. It meets twice a year in St. Louis to advise President James Bullard on the credit, banking and economic conditions facing their institutions and local communities.


This year’s meetings are scheduled for March 4-5 and Oct. 7-8. Additionally, the chair of CDIAC has the responsibility of reporting twice yearly to the Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington, D.C.

Ann Cowley Wells, chair and co-CEO, Commonwealth Bank and Trust Co., Louisville, Ky., remains CDIAC chair. Other members of the 2019 St. Louis Fed CDIAC include:

• Russell “Rusty” Bennett, president and CEO, First National Bank of Clarksdale, Clarksdale, Miss.

• David Bentele, president and CEO, Citizens National Bank of Greater St. Louis, Maplewood, Mo.

• David Doedtman, president and CEO, Washington Savings Bank, Effingham, Ill.

• Craig Esrael, president and CEO, First South Financial Credit Union, Bartlett, Tenn.

• Roy Molitor “Mott” Ford Jr., vice chairman and CEO, Commercial Bank and Trust Co., Paris, Tenn.

• Gary Hudson, president and CEO, Farmers and Merchants Bank, Stuttgart, Ark.

• Margaret “Marnie” Oldner, CEO, Stone Bank, Mountain View, Ark.

• Bill Schirmer, president and CEO, Evansville Teachers Federal Credit Union, Evansville, Ind.

• Marvin Veatch, president and CEO, Jackson County Bank, Seymour, Ind.

• Kelley Workman, president, Planters Bank, Hopkinsville, Ky.

 For more information, see the St. Louis Fed’s CDIAC page. For information and background about all of the Federal Reserve CDIACs, see the Federal Reserve Board of Governors website.