Elections filing deadline Tuesday

Wednesday, January 9, 2019

Exeter mayor shaping up to be hotly contested

With only a few business days left before the deadline to file for city, school board and road district elected positions, the Exeter mayoral race is shaping up to be the most contested in Barry County.

As of Friday, four people had filed for the position, replacing the late Rusty Reed. Lance Eaton, Mike Vasey, Troy Berry and Kenen Martinez have all filed for the two-year post.

As for the two open council positions, incumbent Rhonda Scott has refiled for her South Ward position, where she is challenged by Sean McNeil. In the North Ward, Cotton Reed has filed to replace Keith Johnson, who resigned in December 2018 due to health concerns.

In the city of Cassville, Mayor Bill Shiveley and North Ward Alderman Jon Horner have refiled for their positions. Taylor Weaver has filed for the South Ward seat, currently held by Cindy Carr, who has not refiled.

In the city of Washburn, the mayor’s seat and two at-large alderman seats are up for election. Incumbent Mayor John Tiedeman has refiled for his position. City council incumbents Mary Roller and Jeremy Johnson had yet to file as of Friday, but newcomer Greg Varner has put his name on the list.

In the city of Seligman, incumbents Ron Corn and Robert Hughes have refiled for their East Ward and West Ward alderman seats, respectively. Michael Avers, currently in the first year of his two-year term as West Ward alderman, has filed for mayor. Current Mayor Carol Frost, who won a special election to serve half of a one-year term after the resignation of Garry Thornton, has not refiled.

In the city of Wheaton, one race has developed for the city council in Wheaton. After a close race in the East Ward two years ago, two-term incumbent Gary Bates will face first-time candidate Casey Prewitt. Mayor David Shockley has filed for a third term. No candidates have yet filed for the West Ward, where Kevin Schlessman won a one-year term in 2018 after being appointed to fill the seat held by Stephen Wilkerson, who died in office.

In the city of Purdy, no one has yet filed for mayor or either aldermen’s seats. Bo Prock is the incumbent one-term mayor. Other incumbents are Scott Redshaw in the East Ward and Austin Hammen in the West Ward.

In Butterfield, seats held by East Ward Alderman Mark Thomas and West Ward Alderman Darrell Mathis are but up. Neither have refiled.

For the first time in recent memory, there are no challengers as of yet for the two open at-large seats on the Cassville School Board. Incumbents Jeremy Marple and Chad Yarnall have both refiled.

In the Exeter school district, incumbents Bryce Stephens and Eric O’Neill have both refiled, with no challengers.

At the Southwest school district, incumbents Bobby Stephens and Brian Robbins have yet to file. However, newcomer Diana Roller has thrown her hat into the ring.

In the Wheaton school district, there may be an election in this three-year cycle for the first time since 2004. Halfway through the filing cycle, one-term incumbent Chris Park has filed, as has first-time candidate Jeff Pettengill. Four-term incumbent Dan Goostree has not yet filed or expressed his intentions about running.

In the Purdy school district the field for the two seats on the Purdy school board has not changed since the first day of filings. Todd Schallert, a two-term incumbent and current board chairman, and three-term incumbent Mike Bennett, who resigned from his last term, are the only candidates. Ed Mareth, who has served three terms, is the other incumbent.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: