The best in the area

Wednesday, June 6, 2018
Purdy senior golfer Zoe Brown is one of nearly 100 area athlete finalists for the coveted Springfield Sports Commission Awards. Contributed photo

Purdy senior earns spot on coveted prep list

Purdy senior golfer Zoe Brown is one of nearly 100 area athlete finalists for the coveted Springfield Sports Commission Awards.

On Monday, Brown, along with the other nominated athletes, will attend the Sports Commission Awards presented by Elliott Lodging, a ceremony that will honor the top high school athletes and teams from throughout southwest Missouri.

More than 100 athletes and 30 area teams are finalists in 27 categories for player or team of the year in their respective sports.

“We are excited to continue this awards show because it recognizes outstanding athletes in southwest Missouri,” said Lance Kettering, Executive Director of the Springfield Sports Commission.

Previously known as the 1 Awards, the Sports Commission Awards were determined by a selection committee, which narrowed each category to five athletes, or six in some cases if one school was represented by two players.

Categories cover football, volleyball, wrestling, baseball and softball, as well as sports offered to both boys and girls: basketball, cross country, golf, soccer, swimming and diving, tennis, and track and field. The evening will include the naming of the Boys Athlete of the Year, Girls Athlete of the Year, Boys Team of the Year and Girls Team of the Year in addition to Marching Band, Dance and Cheerleading Teams of the Year, respectively. The wild card category is Bass Fishing Team of the Year.

Brown earned the nod for girls golf, where the senior finished fifth individually in the spring season.

“High school athletics and activities make a difference in the lives of many. That is why the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame is delighted to help the Springfield Sports Commission with this important event,” said Jerald Andrews, President and Executive Director of the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame. “We hope all of southwest Missouri will support the Sports Commission Awards.”

The finalists for all categories are as follows:

Boys Cross-Country

Stephen Kielhofner, Springfield Catholic High School

Ryan Riddle, Webb City High School

Easton Sabala, Hermitage High School

Ben Stasney, West Plains High School

Mark Venable, Lamar High School

Girls Cross-Country

Rachel Bagg, Reeds Spring

Kaylee Hatley, West Plains High School

Kelie Henderson, Bolivar High School

Ashley Knoll, El Dorado Springs High School

Cailee Lake, Liberal High School


T.W. Ayers, Lamar High School

John Berry, Lebanon High School

Will Boswell, Mount Vernon High School

Durand Henderson, Webb City High School

Alex Huston, Glendale High School

Cooper Lucas, Lamar High School

Girls Golf

Zoe Brown, Purdy High School

Anna Iorio, Joplin High School

Kayla Pfitzner, Springfield Catholic High School

Jenna Teeter, Carl Junction

Amber Wilson, Camdenton High School

Boys Soccer

Jason Puente, Monett High School

Mitch Stephens, Glendale High School

Duece Vandaveer, Kickapoo High School

Dylan Brown, Republic High School

Kaueh Huttenlocher, Springfield Catholic High School

Boys Swimming and Diving

Ethan Bergmann, Rogersville High School

Daniel Brink, Nixa High School

Cole Earl, Glendale High School

Ben Hines, Nevada High School

Chris Weiss, Glendale High School

Girls Tennis

Mattie Miles, Rogersville High School

Anna Rader, Springfield Catholic High School

Brooke Smith, Glendale High School

Coral Tracy, Kickapoo High School

Madison Woods, Ozark High School

Macy Abernathy, Ozark High School


Birdie Hendrickson, Rogersville High School

Alana Findley, Fair Grove High School

Macey Putt, Ozark High School

Chloe Rear, Strafford High School

Leah Vokolek, Kickapoo High School

Boys Basketball

Cade Coffman, Mountain Grove High School

Tyem Freeman, Parkview High School

Monty Johal, Glendale High School

Quinn Nelson, Ozark High School

Logan Thomazin, Walnut Grove High School

Girls Basketball

Kaylee DaMitz, Skyline High School

Alana Findley, Fair Grove High School

Hayley Frank, Strafford High School

Bayley Harman, Walnut Grove High School

Katie Scott, Carl Junction High School

Girls Swimming and Diving

Ashley Baldwin, Glendale High School

Mary Bean, Liberal High School

Maddie Duncan, Glendale High School

Cabrini Johnson, Rogersville High School

Molly Moore, Glendale High School

Madeline Wilson, Carl Junction High School


Joel Barrientos, Monett High School

Donovan Benetti, Nixa High School

Adrian Hitchcock, Neosho High School

Sean Sax, Waynesville High School

Jay Strausbaugh, Rogersville High School


Forrest Barnes, Ozark High School

Brett Hammit, Nixa High School

Tyler Martin, Webb City High School

Garrett Rice, Willard High School

Wyatt Sparks, Aurora High School


Addie Darby, Webb City High School

Hallie Henderson, Purdy High School

Katie Kurima, Monett High School

Morgan Loggins, Waynesville High School

Zoey Mullings, Strafford High School

Boys Tennis

Gus Garcia, Joplin High School

Garrett Lewis, Joplin High School

Tanner Powley, Nixa High School

Jason Nayar, Springfield Catholic High School

Finn Wartick, Glendale High School

Matthew Zengel, Kickapoo High School

Boys Golf

Adam Cunnynham, Galena High School

Cooper Hess, Lebanon High School

Dawson Meek, Glendale High School

Lucas Ogden, Glendale High School

Presten Richardson, Miller High School

Logan Smith, Kickapoo High School

Boys Athlete Of The Year

Jace Gorn, Ozark High School

Tyson Riley, Springfield Catholic High School

Arkell Smith, Carthage High School

Logan Thomazin, Walnut Grove High School

Zeke Wall, Carl Junction High School

Girls Athlete Of The Year

Paiton Acord, Parkview High School

Natalie Basham, Camdenton High School

Alana Findley, Fair Grove High School

Hayley Frank, Strafford High School

Macey Putt, Ozark High School

Best Cheerleading Squad

Aurora High School

McDonald County High School

Republic High School

Seneca High School

Strafford High School

Best Marching Band

Pride of Aurora Houn’ Dawg Band

Kickapoo Golden Arrow Band

Neosho Wildcat Band

Nixa Crimson Corps Marching Band

Parkview Viking Band

Best Bass Fishing Team

Ryan Cameron and Tyler Ghan, Republic High School

Kade Houchin and Kaden Dawson, Republic High School

Andrew Johnson and John Hubbert, Bolivar High School

Dalton O’Dell and Eli Cook, Hartville High School

Devan Rathbun and Caleb Haines, Parkview High School

The event is set for 6 p.m. at the Oasis Hotel Convention Center in Springfield. Sponsorship tables of eight are $350, while individual tickets are $30. The Missouri Sports Hall of Fame, which is assisting the Springfield Sports Commission with the ceremony, is taking table and ticket orders at 417-889-3100.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: