Award avalanche continues

Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Madi Stokes was named to the 4-States Basketball Coaches Association All-Region First Team. Jared Lankford/

Regional awards heaped upon area talent

In 2017, a group was formed to help restore, educate, and advance the game of basketball in the Four-State area.

The group, which included several area coaches is called 4-States Basketball Coaches Association or 4SBCA.

Purdy senior Colt Keeling was selected to the 4-States Basketball Coaches Association All-Region First Team. Jared Lankford/

With a full year of organization under their belt, the group has released its 2018 list of All-Region players.

Unlike most awards athletes receive, these regional athletes are deemed to be the best in the Missouri, Arkansas, Oklahoma and Kansas region or approximately a 45-mile radius from Joplin.

This year, Cassville’s Madi Stokes was named to the First Team.

Purdy landed three on the list with Layne Skiles and Colt Keeling each picking up First Team awards. Tyler Keeler was selected to the Second Team.

From Verona, Twilah Carrasquillo was named to the First Team, and Caleb Hillhouse earned Second Team honors.

Pierce City’s Hunter Tindell was a First Team selection, and Kendyl Hayward took home Second Team accolades.

The boys all-area complete list is as follows:

Player of Year

Clay Gayman, 6-6 sr., Nevada

First Team

Marque English, 6-6 sr., Pittsburg

Trent Smith, 6-6 jr., Carl Junction

Matt Miller, 6-4 sr., Aurora

Evan Guillory, 6-3 so., Joplin

Alex Pickett, 6-5 sr., Webb City

Colt Keeling, 6-0 sr., Purdy

Caleb Muia, 6-3 jr., Girard

Brady Wise, 6-0 sr., Neosho

Hunter Tindell, 6-5 sr., Pierce City

Kyle Bushman, 6-7 sr., Mount Vernon

Second Team

Arlo Stump, 5-10 so., Golden City

Austin Higdon, 6-4 sr., Joplin

Caleb Hillhouse, 6-1 jr., Verona

Arkell Smith, 6-1 sr., Carthage

Jake Doyle, 6-4 sr., McAuley Catholic

Will Bebee, 6-7 sr., Carl Junction

Cooper Reece, 6-5 jr., McDonald County

Tyler Keeler, 5-10 sr., Purdy

Chase Curtis, 6-6 sr., Pittsburg

Kyle Nichols, 6-0 sr., Webb City

Girls All-Area

Player of Year

Tristan Gegg, 5-7 sr., Labette County

First Team

Makayla Hayes, 5-8 sr., Neosho

Katie Scott, 6-2 so., Carl Junction

Sydnee Crain, 5-8 sr., Girard

Twilah Carrasquillo, 5-9 jr., Verona

Caitlin Hicks, 5-7 jr., Mount Vernon

Layne Skiles, sr., 5-10 Purdy

Hannah Woodcock, 5-10 sr., Webb City

Rylee Neill, 5-6 sr., Lockwood

Madi Stokes, 6-3 sr., Cassville

Megan Scott, 6-2 sr., Carl Junction

Second Team

Cameron Call, 5-7 jr., Mount Vernon

Calli Beshore, 5-5 so., Nevada

Katelyn Mooney, 5-10 sr., Lamar

Caitlin Mueller, 5-8 sr., Thomas Jefferson

Kinsey Sorrell, 5-3 sr., East Newton

Kendyl Hayward, 5-9 jr., Pierce City

Jessica Zengel, 5-6 sr., Joplin

Marlee Lett, 5-9 sr., College Heights

Cami Roy, 5-9 sr., Webb City

Caitlyn Jordon, 5-10 sr., Neosho

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: