Mitchell elected to state Hall of Fame

Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Longtime Cassville Democrat editor, publisher to be inducted in September

The Cassville Democrat’s longtime editor and publisher will be inducted in the Missouri Press Association’s (MPA) Hall of Fame. 

Bob Mitchell will be one of four inductees at the MPA’s annual convention on Friday, Sept. 29, at the University Plaza in Springfield. Hall of Fame inductees receive Pinnacle Awards in honor of their service to the Missouri newspaper industry and their communities. Inductees’ plaques will join the permanent display of inductees in the MPA office in Columbia and in the student lounge in Lee Hills Hall at the Missouri School of Journalism.

In April, Mitchell was also inducted into the Regional Media Hall of Fame at Missouri Southern State University in Joplin.

“This was unexpected,” Mitchell said. “After the MSSU deal, I thought that was it. This is a great honor, not only for me, but for the paper and the community.”

Mitchell’s family started the Cassville Democrat in 1871. Mitchell got his start in journalism in the Navy, where he served from 1949-53, attending the Navy School of Journalism. 

After leaving the Navy, Mitchell began his career at the Cassville Democrat, where he served until selling the newspaper in 1995. Though retired, he continues to write a weekly column for the newspaper.

Mitchell was chairman of the Industrial Development Corporation for 16 years, and helped facilitate construction of the Cassville Golf Course. He was also active in the Chamber of Commerce and the Cassville Rotary Club.  

“Bob had a great career here in Barry County, and I’m happy to see him get statewide recognition,” said Jacob Brower, who has served as the Cassville Democrat’s publisher since 2013. “This newspaper would not be what it is today without all the hard work and dedication Bob put in over numerous years.”

Brower pointed out that with Mitchell’s Hall of Fame induction and Editor Kyle Troutman earning the Outstanding Young Journalist award, this year’s MPA convention will be special.

“We are proud of our rich history, and excited about our present and future,” Brower said.

Other members of the 2017 Hall of Fame class are the late Kenneth G. Meuser, former publisher of The Monett Times; the late Arthur Aull, former publisher of the Lamar Democrat; and Vicki Russell, past MPA president and former publisher of the Columbia Daily Tribune.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: