Southwest Little Theatre holds Angel Awards ceremony, recognizes scholarship recipients

Wednesday, March 29, 2017
Pictured are Best Actress, Jymme Ash, left, and Best Actor, Skylor Rausa. The Southwest Little Theatre students, along with many others, were recognized at the 17th annual Angel Awards ceremony by Southwest Little Theatre. Contributed photo

The Southwest Little Theatre, under the direction of Wyatt Hester, held its 17th annual Angel Awards ceremony with Erin O’Flaherty, current Miss Missouri, as the host, on Saturday, March 11.

Over 100 students performed monologues to the theme of, 'You’ve Got a Friend in Me.' The evening included a tribute to the SLT Seniors and a recognition of scholarships awarded by the Southwest Little Theatre Scholarship Angel Fund.

Recipients included:

• The Hutchens Construction Scholarships…Jymme Ash and Sarah Catron

• The John & Bobby Jo Dye Scholarship….Darcie Colunga

• The John & Linda Dye Scholarship…. Kendra Hayworth and Khalib Jordan

• The LaVer Sexton Scholarship… Rebekah McKeever

• The Freedom Bank Scholarship… Bethany McMurry and Hannah Outhouse

• The Wyatt & Karen Hester Scholarship….Payton Osburn and Austin Roberts

Competitive awards included:

Advanced Division

• Best Play: The Happy Prince (Cast: Trevor Sneed, Bryan Jimenez, Lane Cargile, Rachel Hedden, Michael Banks, Brandon Beeson, Jaycee Ball, Sarah Catron, Lyric Sears, Heather Windes, Alexa Hudgins, Jayce Ball, Hannah Outhouse, Shelbie Blevins)

• Best Actor: Skylor Rausa

• Best Actress: Jymme Ash

• Best Supporting Actor: a tie-Payton Osburn, Austin Roberts

• Best Supporting Actress: Sydney Leroy

• Best Cameo Actor: Khalib Jordan

• Best Cameo Actress: Kendra Hayworth

• Technical Excellence: Bethany McMurry

• Best Student Director: Morgan Mitchell

• Best Student Scene: Flirting Academy (Cast: Morgan Mitchell, Jay R. Henry, Kendra Hayworth, Hope Robbins, Tristan Smith, Dakota Saunders)

Novice Division

• Best Novice Scene: The Treatment (Cast: Brianna Roller, Taylor Swindle, Lane Morgan, Jackayla Bruno)

• Best Novice Actor: Deecan Barnes

• Best Novice Actress: Kristen Hendrix

• Best Novice Supporting Actor: Lane Morgan

• Best Novice Supporting Actress: Brianna Roller