Big 8 honors rolling in

Wednesday, March 15, 2017
Cassville junior Madi Stokes earned First Team honors on the 2016-2017 Big 8 All-Conference basketball team. Jared Lankford/

Stokes reaches 1,000 points

The Big 8 Conference released the lists of its best boys and girls basketball players for the 2016-2017 season.

Three Cassville players made the list Madi Stokes, Hallie Long and Collin Pearman.

Stokes was a First Team selection as a junior. She became the fifth player under Coach Chris Shore to record 1,000 career points and the first player to do it as a junior. Long earned Honorable Mention status for the Lady Wildcats.

Pearman was a Second Team selection for the Wildcats.

The complete All-Big 8 squads are as follows:

Big 8 Boys

First Team

Sam Timmons, Lamar

Matt Miller, Aurora

Preston Naylor, Aurora

Brett Campbell, Mount Vernon

Jarrett Massie, Mount Vernon

Second Team

Trey Mooney, Lamar

Ian Moore, Lamar

Collin Pearman, Cassville,

Spencer Brattin, Seneca

Coleman Booker, East Newton

Honorable Mention

Devon Hilton, Aurora

Luke Hardman, Lamar

Alex Turner, Monett

Cooper Reece, McDonald County

Kelly Vaughn, Mount Vernon

Player of the Year: Sam Timmons, Lamar

Coach of the Year: Mike Ray, Mount Vernon

Big 8 Girls

First Team

Madi Stokes, Cassville

Kanah Burkey, East Newton

Alyssa Fanning, Lamar

Cameron Call, Mount Vernon

Caitlin Hicks, Mount Vernon

Second Team

Kaylee Huffman, Aurora

Darrah Bartlett, Lamar

Tricia Wattman, McDonald County

Camryn Eldridge, Mount Vernon

Maranda Cooper, Seneca

Honorable Mention

Cheyanne Eutsler, Aurora

Hallie Long, Cassville

Kinsey Sorrell, East Newton

Katie Schmidt, Monett

Taylor Mailes, Seneca

Player of the Year: Cameron Call, Mount Vernon

Coach of the Year: Dusty Killingsworth, Mount Vernon

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: