Ozark 7 names best female players

Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Purdy junior Layne Skiles was named the Ozark 7 Conference Player of the Year for the 2016-2017 basketball season. Kyle Troutman editor@cassville-democrat.com

Purdy’s Skiles claims Player of the Year honors

The seven schools that comprise the Ozark 7 Conference have named the best girls hoops players in the conference with the release of the annual all-conference teams.

The bi-county area was once again well represented on the lists.

Purdy continued its dominance in conference play, winning its fourth consecutive title.

The Lady Eagles also took home Player of the Year honors with Layne Skiles, and Rion Boyd also earned First Team honors. Sami House was selected to the Second Team, and Devyn Callahan was named Honorable Mention

Exeter’s Mikayla Meyer was named to the Second Team, and Julia Grant collected Honorable Mention accolades.

Breanna Learned gathered First Team honors for Southwest while Alison Bernard collected Honorable Mention honors for the Lady Trojans.

Wheaton picked up a First Team selection in Tori Goostree. Hallie Mitchell claimed Second Team honors and Rachel Lacey found a home on the Honorable Mention squad. The full all-conference results are as follows:

Player of the Year: Layne Skiles, Purdy

Coach of the Year: Eli Ernst, Purdy

First Team

1. Rion Boyd, Purdy

2. Twilah Carrasquillo, Verona

3. Breanna Learned, Southwest

4. Nicole Stephenson, Verona

5. Tori Goosetree, Wheaton

Second Team

1. Abby Schiefelbein, McAuley

2. Caitlyn Mueller, Thomas Jefferson

3. Sami House, Purdy

4. Mikayla Meyer, Exeter

5. Hallie Mitchell, Wheaton

Honorable Mention

1. Julia Grant, Exeter

2. Madison Shrum, Verona

3. Devyn Callahan, Purdy

4. Alison Bernard, Southwest

5. Rachel Lacey, Wheaton

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: