Area basketball players dominate all-conference honors

Wednesday, March 8, 2017
Verona’s Caleb Hillhouse was named to the First Team All-Ozark 7 Conference basketball team this year. Jared Lankford

11 hoopsters find way onto Ozarks 7 accolades

With the basketball season winding down, the post-season accolades are starting to be released by the various conferences.

On Monday, honors for the Ozark 7 All-Conference teams were released.

In the boys division, McAuley won the regular season title, followed by Purdy, Southwest, Verona, Thomas Jefferson, Wheaton and Exeter.

In the bi-county area, 11 hoopsters made the rosters.

Locally, Purdy led the way with Tyler Keeler and Hunter Cook earning First Team awards. Matt Wilson was selected to the Second Team.

Wheaton’s Tate Banks grabbed an Honorable Mention All-Conference accolade, as well.

The complete list is as follows:

Coach of the Year: Randy Robertson, McAuley

Player of the Year: Brendyn Taylor, McAuley

First Team

1. Tyler Keeler, Purdy

2. Jake Doyle, McAuley

3. Caleb Hillhouse, Verona

4. Tommy Doyle, McAuley

5. Paton Clay, Southwest

6. Hunter Cook, Purdy

Second Team

1. Kolton Pinkly, Verona

2. Colin Lowry, McAuley

3. Matt Madole, Thomas Jefferson

4. Matt Wilson, Purdy

5. Devin Resz, Southwest

Honorable Mention

1. Tate Banks, Wheaton

2. Landon Wright, Southwest

3. Hunter Huntsing, McAuley

4. Eddie Gutierrez, Verona

5. Andrew Corld, Thomas Jefferson

All-District honors are set to be released next week.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: