8 CMS students selected as pioneers to organize TSA chapter

Wednesday, December 7, 2016
Eight Cassville Middle School students were selected to organize a Technical Student Association in Cassville. Contributed photo

Eight Cassville Middle School (CMS) students were recently selected by Project Lead The Way (PLTW) teachers Jake Forste and Robbie Artherton as CMS Pioneers to organize and establish a TSA Chapter (Missouri Technical Student Association) in Cassville.

The students attended rigorous instruction on parliamentary procedure, and the history, mission, and goals of TSA, and were involved in several academic TSA-based competitions.

Students Lilly Love, Alyzea Meyers, Lexi Yockey, Sam Sparkman, Quixote Gautney-Lopez (seventh grade) and Gavin Moore, Dylan Berndt (eighth grade) traveled to Rolla S&T University Oct. 23-25 for the TSA Leadership Challenge. Russell Dunker (eighth grade) was ill and could not attend.

Most of the attendees completed the necessary requirements for their Basic Degree, while the others will have opportunities to complete the process later. The students plan to work with Forste, Artherton and CMS administrators to develop chapter by-laws, elect officers, and plan the first-year of events in TSA. A regional competition in Joplin and the state competition at Rolla S&T will be on the list of main events for the first year.

The CMS TSA will begin fundraising efforts to help offset material and transportation costs for the state competition, a three-day event. Students can compete in categories such as CAD Foundations, catapult design, CO2 cars, VEX Robotics, digital photography, biotechnology, video game design and much more. There are 35 different categories students may compete in.

TSA membership will be open to any student enrolled in the PLTW courses of Robotics, Design Models or Intro to Computer Science, as well as the non-PLTW courses of Publications and Wood Tech.

Pictured from left, are: Gabe Moore, Dylan Berndt, Quixote Gautney-Lopez, Alyzea Meyers, Lexi Yockey, Lilly Love and Samantha Sparkman.