Wheaton teacher earns regional award

Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Hayslip says her passion is teaching students how to read

Melissa Hayslip, elementary teacher and Title I coordinator at Wheaton Elementary School, was recently named co-Southwest Regional Teacher of the Year for Missouri from a field of 12 finalists.


As a Regional Teacher of the Year, Hayslip will have the opportunity to compete for Missouri Teacher of the Year for 2016-2017, which will be announced in August, and the winner honored at a ceremony in Jefferson City in October 2016. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education coordinates the Missouri Teacher of the Year Program with financial support provided by the Boeing Company and the Monsanto Fund.

Hayslip has 15 years teaching experience, and one of her primary passions in education includes teaching students how to read.

"I knew coming out of college that I was particularly interested in reading and that I would someday go back and get my master's degree in literacy, but I didn't anticipate how rewarding I would find teaching reading to be," Hayslip said. "I began attending workshops and conferences that were based on the foundations of reading, 
particularly if they were phonics-based, to put the knowledge I gained into practice in my own classroom.

"I consider my work co-creating this program to be one of my greatest accomplishments in education, and just one of the many rewards I have gained thus far in my teaching."

Other special recognitions Hayslip has received include: Missouri Special Reading Teacher Certification K-12, Wheaton Elementary School Teacher of the Year (2015); and Wheaton R-3 District Teacher of the Year (2015).

Other candidates for possible selection included teachers: Matt Anderson, Monett; Christina Behl, El Dorado Springs; Katie Brown, Joplin; Nicole Carter, Carthage; Rebecca Jones, Lockwood; Heather Lankford, Seneca; Janis Neher, East Newton; Ron Ray, Lamar; Taylor Rutledge, Carl Junction; and James Spencer, Aurora.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: