Education briefs

Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Emily Speakman of Cassville was named to the Central Methodist University Dean's List for the spring 2016 semester. Speakman is a senior pre-nursing major at the main campus in Fayette. The academic achievement is awarded only to students who meet all criteria required to earn a place on the CMU Dean's List, including a minimum 3.5 or above grade point average for spring 2016. This list is comprised of students from the main campus in Fayette, as well as the online programs and extended sites across the region.

Ryan Odenbrett of Exeter earned a masters of letters in Shakespeare and Performance at Mary Baldwin College's commencement ceremony on May 22 in Staunton, Va.

Atisha Marie Boudreau of Seligman was named to the campus honor roll for the spring 2016 semester at the University of Oklahoma Norman. Students from 49 states and Washington, D.C., were listed on the campus honor roll. In most colleges, students must earn a minimum 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale to be included on the honor roll. However, students in the College of Architecture are recognized with a 3.3 or better, and students in the College of Engineering are recognized with a 3.0 or better.

John Mulkey of Washburn was named to Dean's List at State Technical College in Linn for the 2016 spring semester. To be placed on the Dean's List, full-time students must earn a semester grade point average between 3.5 and 4.0.

Skylar Knoll of Washburn, represented Missouri University of Science and Technology at an event in which the university's S&T Formula car design team won first place overall out of approximately 30 teams over the weekend at a Canadian competition in Barrie, Ontario. Knoll is a senior majoring in mechanical engineering at the Rolla university. The event challenged collegiate teams around the world to design, build and operate Formula One-style racecars. The competition involved rigorous testing of vehicles' engineering and capabilities on the race track, including acceleration test, maneuverability and endurance. The team will next attend Formula SAE Lincoln June 15-18 in Lincoln, Nebraska.

Multiple youth were awarded scholarships by the Crowder College Foundation for the 2016-2017 school year. Included in the list were, Abigail Calhoun, Samantha Cox, Makenzy Durossette, Veronica Gemmecke, Lucy Khang, Hunter Madison, Valeria Perez, Jacquelyn Ritchie and Sonya Swope of Cassville; Sandra Gill of Eagle Rock; Lyda Yang of Exeter; Kallie Bowman and Margo Schlessman of Purdy; William Freeman, Karen Hunt, Morgan Marble and Kaitlyn Roberts of Seligman; and Lorena Castro of Wheaton. Scholarships are awarded based on academic performance, financial need, leadership ability and educational goals. Foundation scholarships are supported by private donors and fundraising events.

Corey Neal Stanley of Seligman and John Zachery Mulkey of Washburn recently graduated from State Technical College of Missouri in Linn, in the spring 2016 semester. The technical college identifies itself on being one of the leading two-year technical colleges in Missouri and the Midwest region, and has built a reputation as a highly specialized, student-friendly college with an reputation for business and industry.

Avery Dawn Legg, of Purdy, recently graduated from Rockhurst University in Kansas City at its its 96th annual commencement ceremony which was held May 14. Legg received a Masters in Business Administration and Health Care Leadership.

Adam John Prier, of Golden, and Justin Lee Lambert, of Washburn, were among 1,200 graduates at Missouri University of Science and Technology commencement ceremonies in Rolla on May 14. Prier graduated with a bachelor of science in engineering management, and Lambert graduated with a bachelor of science in business and management systems. The university awards bachelor of science, bachelor of arts, master of science and doctor of philosophy degrees.

Justin Lee Lambert, of Washburn, and Tammy Martin, of Seligman, were recently announced to Missouri University of Science and Technology's honor list for the spring 2016 semester. To be included on the honor list, students must have carried a minimum of 12 hours, and had grade point averages of 3.2 or above out of a possible 4.0. Lambert is a senior majoring in business and management systems, and Martin is a senior majoring in chemistry. The university is located in Rolla.

Barry and Lawrence counties retired teachers met on June 9 at the Olive Grill Restaurant for a buffet luncheon for their annual joint meeting. Patriotic entertainment was provided by 3 Little Birds, of Willard. The group is made up of the granddaughters of members Sunni and Kenneth Wilson. Kelly Johnston, an Aurora resident and tour guide for the Frank Lloyd Wright house at Crystal Bridges in Bentonville, Ark., presented an informative program on "Frank Lloyd Wright--World's greatest Architect?" and special guest MRTA State President Barbara Self shared thoughts with members. Mary Ann Gregory presided at the meeting, and Sherry Meyer and Barbara Cohu distributed door prizes.

Wyatt Lopez, of Eagle Rock, was named to the dean's list for the 2016 spring semester at Eastern Oregon University in La Grande, Ore. To qualify for the list, students must achieve and maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale while completing a minimum of 12 hours of graded coursework for the duration of the term.