Cassville volleyball sets sights on 2015

Wednesday, November 5, 2014
Cassville's Memory Barber sends the ball over the net for the Lady Wildcats during volleyball action this year. The Lady Wildcats' season ended in the first round of district play. Chuck Nickle Special to the Cassville Democrat

Lady Wildcats to work on fundamental growth

With a loss in the opening round of district play, the work for Cassville Coach Hannah Ketterman and her Lady Wildcats volleyball team is just beginning.

"Our girls fought all season," Ketterman said. "We just didn't get the wins to show it."

Ketterman said this season had been a whirlwind, and at times, she wasn't able to spend enough time to work on specific problem. All that will change this offseason.

"We have camps, gym practices and a lot of time slated to work with small groups and individual players," Ketterman said. "Our coaches and our players are excited to roll up our sleeves and get better. We are going to focus on fundamentals and core development."

Cassville has a tremendous amount of talent in its freshman class and several young players with skills that just need to be refined.

"This year was about establishing my system and the girls learning about my expectations," Ketterman said. "If we work hard, good things will come."

Last week, the Big 8 Conference released its all-conference volleyball team.

No Cassville player was named to the all-conference team. The list is as follows:

First team

Bradyn Wall (unanimous), Carl Junction

Mackenzie Irwin (unanimous), Carl Junction

Laynie Dake (unanimous), Mt. Vernon

Maria Chism, Carl Junction

Katie Juracek, Aurora

Preslea Reece, McDonald County

Koty Cooper, East Newton

Second team

Candace Tracy, Carl Junction

Cat Repsher, Carl Junction

Regain Turnbull Cline, Aurora

Payton Woodrum, Mt. Vernon

Tobey Adams, Carl Junction

Emily Parker, Aurora

Kourtney Brewster, East Newton

Honorable mention

Lakin Waggoner, Aurora

Brenlee McPherson, Carl Junction

Haley Landrum, Lamar

Morgan Hull, Mt. Vernon

Rachel Butterfield, Seneca

Brittney Stone, McDonald County

Aubrey McDermott, East Newton

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: