Sater's abortion bill coming up at veto session

Wednesday, September 3, 2014

Override would extend waiting period to 72 hours

Local state legislators said the Missouri House and Senate will override Gov. Jay Nixon's veto of the bill that would extend the current 24-hour waiting period for women seeking abortions to 72 hours.

"There was over 9,000 abortions in 2012 in the state of Missouri, and I would like to see that number, of course, decrease," said Sen. David Sater, R-Cassville. "I am very much pro-life, and I would like to give the patient, the female that is pregnant, to have a little bit more time of reflection on this life changing decision that they're about to make.

"I just want to give this person more time of reflection because once you make that decision and the unborn child is killed, that's permanent. You can't go back after that."

Nixon vetoed House Bills 1307 and 1313 because he said he "cannot condone the absence of an exception for rape and incest," according to his veto letter. He said lengthening the 24-hour mandate to at least 72 hours would create "emotional and financial hardships for women who have undoubtedly already spent considerable time wrestling with perhaps the most difficult decision they may ever have to make."

He also said the action could increase the risk of complications if the procedure moves to a later time in a pregnancy.

Sater sponsored Senate Bill 519, which was the same as the House bills, but did not pass.

State Rep. Scott Fitzpatrick, R-Shell Knob, said he feels confident that the Legislature will override the veto for the House bills.

"I think we will probably be successful on an historic quantity of items being overridden," Fitzpatrick said.

The Veto Session is set for Sept. 10.

The Legislature requires 109 Representatives and 23 Senators to override any veto. The House has 108 Republicans, 51 Democrats and four vacant districts. The Senate has 23 Republicans, nine Democrats and two vacant districts.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: