Deffenbaugh receives two CFO scholarship awards

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Funds awarded through the 
Cassville Community Foundation

Mikala Deffenbaugh, a 2014 graduate of Cassville High School, was selected to receive the Olin J. Brattin Scholarship and Doris Lorayne Sims Easley Scholarship, both administered by the Community Foundation of the Ozarks. These endowed scholarships are component funds of the Cassville Community Foundation, an affiliate of CFO.

Mikala, the daughter of Bob and Lisa Deffenbaugh, graduated from Cassville High School in 2014 and will be attending Oklahoma Christian University this fall, where she plans to study nursing.

"These scholarships will help me in pursuing a bachelor of science in nursing degree," Mikala said. "I would like to thank the donors for funding these scholarships that I have so graciously been given."

The Olin J. Brattin Scholarship was established to further the higher education of Cassville R-IV, Wheaton R-III and McDonald County R-1, which includes the Rocky Comfort community in Anderson, high school students. Scholarships are awarded based on financial considerations, character, scholastic achievement, and ability.

The Doris Lorayne Sims Easley Scholarship was established to support Cassville graduating seniors attending a two or four-year college, vocational or technical program. Criteria include financial considerations, work experience and community service.

The Community Foundation of the Ozarks is a regional public foundation established in 1973 with assets of about $254 million in more than 2,800 funds. Its network includes 44 affiliate foundations, such as the Cassville Community Foundation, which was established in 2004 and now has assets of more than $560,000. The CCF has distributed more than $152,000 back into the community since its inception.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: