Several Wildcats earn conference honors; Jackson selected first team All-Big 8 Conference

Wednesday, June 4, 2014
Cassville junior Chase Jackson was the Wildcats' lone first-team selection on the Big 8 All-Conference team. Chuck Nickle/Special to the Cassville Democat

Post-season awards have begun to pour in for spring sports.

The first of the accolades were released late last week, with the Big 8 Conference honoring its top players.


Cassville's Chase Jackson earned first team honors as a utility player.

"Chase is a fantastic worker," said Kyle Wood, Cassville coach. "He is one of the most selfless kids I have been around. We can ask Chase to play any position and he would do it in a heartbeat and do it to the best of his ability. He is also a joy to be around and comes in with a positive attitude everyday."

Alex Dyer was a second-team outfield selection, along with infielder Noah Hadlow, both just sophomores.

Senior Marcus Weatherman received Honorable Mention accolades as a catcher, as did Hadlow as for his abilities on the mound.

Monett captured two of the top honors with Coach Michael Calhoun being named Coach of the Year. Cameron Witt split the vote with Seneca's Payton Rawlins and earned co-players of the year recognition.

The complete list is as follows:

Player of the Year: Payton Rawlins, Seneca

Player of the Year: Cameron Witt, Monett


Coach of the Year: Michael Calhoun, Monett

First team

Pitchers: Cameron Witt, Monett; Dalan Merriman, Seneca; Tripp Tucker, Lamar; and Tyler Armentrout Carl Junction.


Catcher: Kurltin Hulette, Carl Junction.

Infielders: Payton Rawlins, Seneca; Zack Hammond, Monett; Tripp Tucker, Lamar; Josh Petty, Carl Junction, Tyler Armentrout, Carl Junction; and Sam Swartz, East Newton.

Outfielders: Cameron Witt, Monett; Dylon Robertson, Lamar; and Billy Meredith, Aurora.

Designated hitters: Cooper Caldwell, Monett; and Nate Landas, Carl Junction.

Utility: Chase Jackson, Cassville.

Second team

Pitchers: Sam Swartz, East Newton; J. L. Forrester, Mt. Vernon; and Blake Spain, Monett.

Catcher: Rocky Liveoak, East Newton.

Infielders: Dalan Merriman, Seneca; Grayson Ketron, Mt. Vernon; Jordan Hall, Monett; Noah Hadlow, Cassville; and Tanner Phipps, Lamar.

Outfielders: Brandon Harnar, Carl Junction; Alex Dyer, Cassville; and Kaden Schoff, Mt. Vernon.

Designated hitter: Trent Morgan, Lamar.

Utility player: Derek Henderson, Lamar.

Honorable mention

Pitchers: Noah Hadlow, Cassville; Payton Rawlins, Seneca; and Zach Beyer, Carl Junction.

Catcher: Marcus Weatherman, Cassville.

Infielders: Connor Osterloh, Mt. Vernon; Logan Rycraft, Mt. Vernon; Brett Gollhofer, Monett; and Todd Morrow, Lamar.

Outfielders: Isaac Long, Monett; Brayden Larson, Seneca; and Lakin Hardman, Lamar.

Designated hitter: Ryan Linton, East Newton.

Utility player: Zach Horine, Seneca.

The Wildcats recently announced team awards:

Most Valuable Player: Noah Hadlow

Pitcher of the Year: Marcus Weatherman

Offensive Player of the Year: Chase Jackson

Defensive Player of the Year: Alex Dyer

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: