Purdy students receive awards, scholarships

Wednesday, May 21, 2014

Outstanding student medals, certificates presented

Scholarships and top honors for the year were recently announced at Purdy High School.

The student council named the junior class as the Class of the Year. The choir was the Organization of the Year. The Golden Apple Award, given annually to a teacher, was presented to math teacher Molly Strickland.

Completing requirements to qualify for A+ benefits were: Micaela Adams, Viridiana Aldava, Jessica Ball, Jake Beaty, Macey Breeding, Deana Burch, Brent Cornman, Doni Rae Craig, Kyle Davidson, Careya Garcia, Alissa Graham, Carleigh Hall, Kaylynn Harkey, Jennifer Hernandez, Melanie Heston, Dillon Lowe, Ashley Lowery, Tanner Marshall, Kelton Mattingly, Avery McCord, Andrew McCormick, Mariela Rivera, Rocio Rodriguez, Tyler Scott, Jared Smith, Kristin Strother and Reese Veith.

Various presenters announced scholarships from local organizations and families as well as colleges and academic groups. The scholarships and recipients follow:

* Purdy Eaglebackers: Alex Mareth, Kelton Mattingly, Megan Schilly and Reese Veith.

* First State Bank: Reese Veith.

* Evangel University Music: Dana Cunningham.

* President's Volunteer Service Award: Macey Breeding, Melanie Heston.

* AmeriCorps Classroom Assistant Award: Deana Burch, Alissa Graham and Ashley Lowery.

* AmeriCorps Education Award: Rocio Rodriguez and Mariela Rivera.

* Monsanto Community Service: Rocio Rodriguez.

* Ministerial Alliance: Tanner Marshall, Jared Smith, Deana Burch, Alex Mareth, Tyler Scott, Kelton Mattingly, Megan Schilly, Reese Veith, Brittany Wise and Larissa Wise.

Angie Swadley Memorial: Deana Burch.

Security Bank of Cassville: Tanner Marshall.

Whitetails Unlimited: Doni Rae Craig.

Carl Geyer Memorial: Kaylynn Harkey.

Red Cross: Kelton Mattingly.

Community Teachers Association: Jessica Ball, Deana Burch and Kelton Mattingly.

CTA Superintendent's: Ruben Ibarrra.

CTA Charles Bowman Memorial: Tanner Marshall.

Little Joe Transplant Fund: Deana Burch, Ruben Ibarra.

Pella Rolscreen Foundation: Jessica Ball.

EFCO/Pella Sales Representative: Jessica Ball.

Missouri Southern State University Presidential: Jessica Ball.

MSSU R.P. Moore Memorial: Jessica Ball.

Missouri State University Dean's: Ruben Ibarra.

Pearl Foundation: Macey Breeding, Jesus Perez, Ashley Lowery.

Spanish Club: Jesus Perez, Careya Garcia, Thomas Berry.

Purdy Alumni: Brent Cornman, Tanner Marshall and Melanie Heston.

Gary and Katherine Horton Science: Ruben Ibarra.

FFA: Jake Beaty, Jessica Ball, Deana Burch, Doni Rae Craig, Melanie Heston, Alex Mareth and Jared Smith.

Blessings Forward: Kaylynn Harkey.

MFA: Jessica Ball.

Crowder College Chamber Choir: Alissa Graham.

Crowder College Softball: Carleigh Hall.

Wendy's High School Heisman Award: Macey Breeding.

Missouri State High School Activities Association Award: Macey Breeding, Alex Mareth.

Student medals were given at the assembly and certificates in the classroom for outstanding achievement in the following fields of study:

* Band Director James Adams gave the outstanding student medal to Kyle Davidson.

* Vocal music teacher Lauren Lee presented the outstanding student medal to Alissa Graham and certificates of achievement to Dana Cunningham, Tanner Marshall and Katherine Wise.

* Math teacher Molly Strickland presented the outstanding medal to Esmeralda Dodson. Receiving certificates of achievement were Juaquin Robles for calculus, Abby Parsons for geometry and Mikala Fletcher for algebra 2.

* Art teacher Christine Schmitz identified Alissa Graham as the outstanding art student. Certificates of achievement went to Shelby Thomas for ceramics, Bailey Burnside for art 1 and Desi Ennes for art 2.

* Family and consumer sciences teacher Joe Bauer presented certificates of achievement to Ashley Granados, Clarissa Nunez and Rocio Rodriguez.

* Business teacher Kay Wright named Deana Burch as the outstanding business student. Receiving certificates of appreciation were Breanna Keeler for computer apps and to Billie House and Katherine Wise for personal finance.

* English teachers Kayla Branstetter and Michelle Hilburn gave the outstanding student medal to Kelton Mattingly. Receiving certificates of achievement for communication arts were Morgan Boley for level 1, Esmeraldo Dodson for level 2 and Billie House for level 3.

* Science teacher Lisa Reid presented Juaquin Robles with the outstanding student medal. Certificates of achievement went to Mikala Fletcher for biology, Kelton Mattingly for chemistry and Brent Cornman for anatomy and physiology.

* Social studies teacher Andrew Godsey gave his outstanding student medal to Emily Wolf.

* Coach Eli Ernst gave the physical education certificates of achievement to Michael Canales and Katie Real.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: