Southwest Little Theatre hosting Angel Awards

Wednesday, April 2, 2014

The Southwest Little Theatre, under the direction of Mr. Wyatt Hester, will be presenting its 14th Annual Angel Awards in a Dramatic Monologue format.

The event will be hosted by Shelby Ringdahl, Miss Missouri, on April 12 at 4:30 p.m. for the Junior High Awards ceremony and at 6 p.m. for the High School Awards ceremony. Tickets are $10 per person and can be reserved by calling 417 826-5361 or emailing

Ringdahl won the title of Miss Missouri on June 8, 2013, when she received her crown from outgoing titleholder Tippe Emmott. Ringdahl's platform is "Finding Safety: Helping Abused Children Discover Love Through CASA," and she said she hoped to become an advocate for abused children during her year as Miss Missouri. Her competition talent was a vocal rendition of "Defying Gravity." Ringdahl is a graduate of Rock Bridge High School in Columbia, Mo., and is a senior at Texas Christian University, majoring in musical theatre. At TCU, Shelby is involved in Kappa Alpha Theta Sorority.

SLT Masters of Ceremony include: Derick Wright, Justin Ballard, Montana Hendrix, Jazmin Fielding, Tristen Cain and Gabe O'Steen-Mann. The Angel Award entertainment include SLT actors presenting a series of original dramatic monologues entitled: "My Happiest Day." Junior High performers include: Zoe Albertson, Chance Black, Christina Brinkman, Dezaray Cannady, Stevie Cline, James Colunga, Savanah Cook, Renae Dalton, Sadie Dunegan, Alexa Hudgins, Amy McManus, Brianna Roller, Dakota Saunders, Madisson Stanley, Alissa Walker, Deecan Barnes, Kaitlyn Bernard, Iliana Brown, Amber Cannady, Myka Cook, Kenneth Durossette, Laisha Figueroa, Gracelyn Gentry, Brooklyn Hamilton, Rachell Hedden, Wyatt McKeever, Mariah Munday, Makenzey Reed, Kaitlyn Roberts, Tylor Swindle, Tyler Troyer and Kaylea Young.

High School performers include: Jymme Ash, Brandon Beeson, Whitney Curry, Trevor Guillon, Katherine Hedden, T.J. Hill, Khalib Jordan, Levi Moore, Kaitlyn Roberts, Hailey Foster, David Enriquez, Mariah Peach, Sarah Ames, Samnatha Blackstone, Justin Ballard, Jazmin Fielding, Derick Wright, Chrystal Farmer, Gabe O'Steen-Mann, Sequoia Beck, Tristen Cain, Brandy Garcia, Makenzie Harp, Montana Hendrix, Tyler Logan, Meghan Rickett, Paj Chea Yang. Shayla Bruno, Sarah Catron, Cheristi Cline, Brianna Deason, Orion Lawyer, Dustin Williams, Dawson Hill, Samantha Robbins, Brittany Hackett, Chase Logan, Kaitlyn Gentry, Bryan Jimenez, Sydney Leroy, Skyler Maleki, Rebekah McKeever, Payton Osburn, Zia Roller, Baylea Ford, Jonathan Humphries, Victoria Williams, Salena Hicks, Ericka Davis, Valerie McKeever, Willa Young, Tyler Bernard, Makenzie Harvey and Michael Hornback.

Awards for the evening will include the Ozark-7 One-Act Awards recap, SLT Scholarship Angel Recipients, Best Play, Technical Excellence, Best Actor/Actress, Best Supporting Actor/Actress and Best Cameo Actor/Actress.