Filings open for Aug. 5 primary

Wednesday, February 26, 2014

Candidates emerge for county, state positions

Candidates began lining up at the Barry County Courthouse Tuesday to declare their intentions to run for county and state offices.

Candidates will face off in the Aug. 5 primary before the general election on Nov. 4. Filings close at 5 p.m. on March 25. All candidates filed for office on the Republican ticket.

In Barry County, a race developed for presiding commissioner. Five-term incumbent Cherry Warren filed for another term. First-time candidate Terry Burgess of Seligman also filed. Warren was unopposed in 2010. The presiding commissioner's position pays $31,700 a year.

One candidate has filed for the following positions:

* Gary Youngblood, five-term incumbent county clerk, who ran unopposed in 2010 (position pays $45,000).

* Lois Lowe, five-term county treasurer, who ran unopposed in 2010 (position pays $45,000).

* Janice Varner, three-term incumbent collector, who ran unopposed in 2010 (position pays $45,000).

* Craig Williams, two-term circuit court clerk and recorder of deeds, who ran unopposed in 2010 (state position pays $51,918).

A change will come in the prosecutor's position. Three-term incumbent Johnnie Cox filed for the Division 1 associate circuit court judge seat. Two-term incumbent Victor Head announced he will retire from the position. Pat Sullivan, Cox's assistant prosecutor, filed for the prosecutor's job just before noon. Sullivan recently moved to Shell Knob from Stone County. The prosecutor's position pays $116,000.

One-term incumbent Robert Foulke filed for re-election as the Division 2 associate court judge. Both judge seats pay $116,000.


One-term incumbent Rep. Scott Fitzpatrick, R-Shell Knob, had not filed for re-election as of noon Tuesday. Fitzpatrick represents House District 158, which includes Barry County and portions of Stone and Lawrence counties. Missouri House members receive salaries of $35,915.

U.S. Rep. Billy Long, R-Mo., filed for re-election to a third term Tuesday at 9:23 a.m. U.S. representatives outside of leadership positions receive salaries of $174,000.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: