CHS FBLA competes in district competition

Wednesday, February 26, 2014
Cassville High School will send 18 FBLA members to the State Leadership Conference April 13--15, in Columbia. Members pictured include, front row, from left; Arian Banks, Alyssa Brewer, Jessica Haney, Jade Holloway, Emily Brewer, Bridges Madison, Ashlea Large and Ying Thao. Back row: Kelsey Roney, Alex Hang, Audrey Holman, Katelyn Pitts, Zach Denton, Colton Bowman, Hise Williams, Andrew Whitham, Jordan Fisher, Clayton Perez, Clay Lone, Brittany Sanchez, Morgan Shumaker and Alyssa Pearman. Not pictured: Elisha Michael. Contributed photo

18 students go on to state conference

On Feb. 19, the Cassville Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) competed in the FBLA District Competition at New Site Baptist Church in Monett.

Five students participated in events that go straight-to-state, and 13 students qualified at the district competition.

Cassville High School will be represented by a total of 18 FBLA students at the State Leadership Conference April 13--15, in Columbia.

Those winning straight-to-state events included:

* Brittany Sanchez -- Local Annual Chapter Report

* Miranda Gaches and Kaitlyn Sexton -- E-Business Web Site

* Hise Williams and Zach Denton -- Community Service Report

* Elisha Michael -- American Enterprise Report

* Clayton Perez and Colton Bowman -- Mobile Application

Those who qualified for state through the district include:

* Emily Brewer -- Accounting I -- 1st place

* Jade Holloway -- Agribusiness -- 5th place

* Kelsey Roney -- Business Communications -- 2nd place

* Ashlea Large -- Business Math -- 2nd place

* Jessica Haney -- Business Math -- 1st place

* Colton Bowman -- Cyber Security -- 5th place

* Dillon Hess -- Database Design -- 1st place

* Alyssa Brewer -- FBLA Principles and Procedures -- 5th place

* Ashlea Large -- Introduction to Business -- 4th place

* Colton Bowman and Clay Lone -- Network Design -- 1st place

* Emily Brewer -- Future Business Leader -- 1st place

* Emily Brewer, Hise Williams, Zach Denton and Ashlea Large - Parliamentary Procedures -- 1st place

* Jordan Fisher and Andrew Whitham - Sports and Entertainment Management -- 1st place

Other students who placed in the top five at the District level included:

* Randi Pendergraft -- Computer Applications -- 5th place

* Dean Sprinkle -- Datable Applications -- 4th place

* Reaghan Blisard -- Spreadsheet Applications -- 4th place

* Kelsey Roney and Audrey Holman - Business Presentation -- 3rd place

* Arian Banks and Katelyn Pitts -- Digital Design and Promotion -- 4th place

* Alex Hang -- Digital Video Production -- 3rd place

* Jordan Fisher and Clayton Perez -- Management Decision Making -- 3rd place

* Morgan Shumaker and Alyssa Pearman -- Public Service Announcement -- 4th place

* Ying Thao -- Public Speaking I -- 4th place

* Katelyn Pitts, Brittany Sanchez and Arian Banks -- Web Site Design -- 4th place.