Barry Electric schedules membership meetings

Wednesday, January 29, 2014

Three directors' terms set to expire this year

Marvin Phipps, secretary for the Barry Electric Cooperative, has announced the schedule for the annual district membership meetings.

District No. 1 members will meet at the Wheaton School cafeteria, located at 116 McCall St. in Wheaton, on Feb. 10; District No. 2 members will meet at the Barry Electric Cooperative office, located at 4015 Main St. in Cassville, on Feb. 11; and District No. 3 members will meet at Oak Ridge Baptist Church, located east of Cassville on Highway 248, on Feb. 13. All meetings begin at 7 p.m.

The purpose of the district meetings is to nominate candidates for director to represent members from each district on the cooperative's board of directors. The two candidates receiving the most votes in each district during the nomination meeting will be placed on the ballot for the election of one director from each district at the cooperative's annual membership meeting.

The 67th annual cooperative membership meeting will be held on April 10 at 1 p.m. at the First Baptist Church Family Life Center, located at the corner of 5th Street and West Street in Cassville.

Directors with expiring terms include: Lewis Royer (District No. 1), David Cupps (District No. 2) and Glen Craig (District No. 3).

The cooperative's officers include: Cupps (president), Vice-president John Marney and Phipps. Board of directors members include: Royer, Craig, Marlee Edie, Richard Asbill, David Dalton and Ray Manley.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: