Area players earn softball honors

Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Several local softball players continue to reel in post-season awards.

Purdy's Breanna Keeler (pitcher) and Jayse Henderson (infield) earned first team Class 2, District 5 All-District honors.

Purdy teammates Carleigh Hall (outfield), Skyler Lakey (outfield), Billie House (infield) and Morgan Schilly (infield) were named to the All-District second team.

Pierce City's Brooke Ridenour (infield), and McKenzie Moreland (pitcher) were first team All-District selections.

Mattie Brottlund (outfielder), earned second team consideration for the Lady Eagles.

Southwest's Kaleigh Ennis earned first team All-District honors as a utility player and a second team nod as a pitcher.

Zia Roller and Mackey McNabb were second selections as infielders for the Lady Trojans

Barry County was also well represented on the All-Region team, comprised of the best players from Districts 5 through 8.

The All-Region players are as follows:

First team

Utility: Taylor Witt, El Dorado Springs.

Catchers: Cassidy Boem, Lamar; and Bailee Howard, Pierce City.

Pitchers: Emmie Robertson, Lamar; McKenzie Moreland, Pierce City; Jordan Lawson, Iberia; and Abby Atkins, Sherwood.

Outfielders: Tarron Finn, Marionville; Hanna Million, Diamond; Paige Helton, Vienna; and Lynnlee Parrott, Sherwood.

Infielders: Haley Lane, Marionville; Taylor Ewing, Stockton; Faith Duncan, Iberia; Jayse Henderson, Purdy; Maci Marshall, Dixon; and Taylor Plattner, Archie.

Second team

Utility: Haley Ragan, Vienna; Kaleigh Ennis, Southwest; and Larkin Simmerman, Ash Grove.

Catcher: Kali Nelson, Dixon; Cailen Edwards, Iberia; and Balie Stine, Marionville.

Pitchers: Eden Henry, Marionville; and Maci Ray, Dixon.

Outfielders: Shelby Crusha, Sherwood; Madi Freeman, Pleasant Hope; and Whitney Wright, Marionville.

Infielders: Cameron McPeak, El Dorado Springs; Lorin Weaver, Fair Grove; Kori Hillenburg, Pleasant Hope; Tabitha Francka, Morrisville; and Rachel Baldwin, Sarcoxie.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: