Burns claims individual district xc title

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

Chase Burns, the Wheaton senior, turned on the jets in the final 300-meters to hold off Crane's Lexie Vaught and win the Class 1, District 5 cross-country girls race at Granby on Saturday, Nov. 2.

She posted a winning time of 21:11.19 on the wet and soft course on the campus of East Newton High School.

The contest was a classic match race, with Burns and Vaught opening a big lead over the field in the early going. Burns led as the runners finished the first of two laps, but Vaught moved in front as the pair attacked the multiple switchbacks west of the stadium and disappeared into the woods.

Burns, who appeared spent with a mile to go, surged back into the lead and then powered to the finish line. Vaught's kick faded in the final 200-meters, and she finished in 21:17.91, with Sparta's Ashley Hutchinson charging up to take third in 21:26.45.

"She's tough," said Wheaton coach Darrell Crane of his district champion.

The Sparta Lady Trojans claimed the team championship, scoring 31 points. Mansfield was second with 46, followed by Spokane with 63, and Wheaton with 78.

Triston Eaton, of Sparta, won the Class 1 District 5 boys race, holding off Crane's Joe Stock, 17:08.12 to 17:14.22. The Sparta boys won the team race, scoring 42. Wheaton was sixth with 163.

Tate Banks, led Wheaton with his 28th-place finish in 20:46.37.

Class 2, District 5

East Newton also hosted the Class 2, District 5 cross-country championships.

Ryan Beaver, of College Heights, won the boys race in 16:28.99.

Springfield Catholic won the boys team title, scoring 34. Southwest was seventh with 166.

Zach Miles led the Southwest contingent, placing 29th in 19:21.77, with Paton Clay taking 32nd in 19:40.11.

Springfield Catholic dominated the girls division, placing six runners in the top 10. The Lady Irish won the team title with just 25 points, paced by Kelly Devlin's first-place finish in 19:43.17.

Southwest's Sydney Delossantos claimed 31st in 26:07.93.

The top two teams and top 15 individual runners from each race qualified to the MSHSAA State Cross Country Championships on Saturday, Nov. 9 at Jefferson City.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: