Winners named at Shakin' in the Shell car show

Wednesday, October 2, 2013

Winners in this year's Shakin' in the Shell 26th annual car show, held on Saturday, Sept. 21, have been announced.

Winner of the Sheriff's Award was Russ Pendergast with a 1972 Monte Carlo.

The best interior award went to Vancil Riddlesperger and his 1955 Chevrolet.

The best work in progress award was on a 1950 Plymouth, owned by Jim Johnson.

The People's Choice Award was presented to Ron and Judy Bass for a 1930 Model A.

Cade Pendergast won the Teen Award for his 1979 Chevrolet.

Wess Sherer received the Best Preservation Award for his 1957 Ford Skyliner.

The vote for most unique vehicle went to Mike Cornelison for his 1956 Ford.

Pete Osborne took home honors for the best engine on his 1966 Chevy.

The Fire Chief's Award went to Mark Ouellette, of Canada, for his 1999 Shelby Mustang.

Winners in the class 1 division, 1900 to 1940 were: Gordon Sturgeon, first place, 1932 Ford Roadster; Ron Bass, second place, 1930 Ford A coupe; and Don Casner, third place, 1934 Ford pickup.

In class 2 competition, 1941 to 1963: Sherman Hudson, first place, 1957 Chevrolet Bel Aire; Gene Herdom, second place, 1956 Chevrolet Bel Aire; Rich Mrstik, third place, 1963 Corvette.

Class 3 winners, 1964 to 1979: Dustin Murray, first place, 1972 Chevrolet Camero; Russ Pendergast, second place, 1972 Monte Carlo; Bob Walpert, third place, Pontiac Firebird.

Class 4 winners, 1980 to 1999, were: Dickie Sopok, 1991 Camero; Bill Buchanan, second place, 1987 Toyota Supra; Justin and Kell Haynes, third place, 1989 Mustang.

Class 5 division winners, 2000 to present, were: Bob and Judy Johnson, first place, 2007 Mustang; Bob Kitching, second place, 2012 Camero; and Justin Belisle, 2010 Ford.

In the motorcycle division, Ken Coy took first place with a 1936 Harley Davidson VLH; and David Barton took second place with a 2005 Harley Davidson.

A total of 110 vehicles were entered into this year's competition.

"We had to make some last minute adjustments this year as we lost three people that had originally committed to hosting the show," said Bernard Dick, co-chair of the car show committee. "Our last-minute crew stepped in and made the day for these car owners."

Barry County Sheriff Mick Epperly awarded trophies as winners were announced.

Judges for the car show were: Gene Moore, Clint Evans, Bill Harris, Greg Houser, Dennis Stanley and Tom Cosgray.

Parking assistance was provided by: Bill George, Bill Elsey and Rich Mrstik.

Volunteers and work crew members were: Pat Ervin, Judith Fouser, Chloe Gibbons, Marlene George and Everett Chastain.