PC Car Show prize winners named

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

The Pierce City Car Show, held Saturday, Aug. 31, saw 59 first, second and third place winners, along with three special award winners.

Kevin and Rhonda Hatfield, who have hosted the show for 22 years, announced they would be retiring after this year.

"We were young, attractive and energetic when we started," joked Kevin. "Now look at me."

Don Erickson, Shell Knob, lovingly polished the chrome bumper on his 1966 Barracuda at the annual Pierce City Car Show, held Saturday, Aug. 31, at South Park in Pierce City. Erickson restored the classic vehicle himself, and took home a first place trophy. Democrat Photo/Melonie Roberts

Hatfield went on to say the annual show would not have been possible without the help of volunteers and sponsors, including Gary and Susie Gasser, Connie and Ernie Jarvis, Monroe Rosebrough, their children and family members who have devoted hours of volunteer time to help make the event a success.

Hatfield said the show would continue under the direction of the Sooter family starting in 2014.

The Pierce City eighth grade class offered assistance in running the concession stand, registration, sold 50/50 tickets and T-Shirts, chose the "Committee's Choice" winner and helped set up and tear down tents for the event.

Special award winners were: Wayne Bruffey, of Everton, for his custom 1957 Chevy; Polly McCrillis, of Wentworth, for her late model 2012 Camaro; Bob and Arlene McGarrah, of Cave Springs, Ark., for their 1971 Chevy truck; and Rod and Shawna Whorton, of Neosho, for their 1971 Chevy Nova.

Bruffey was awarded first place, top points for early model car, kid's choice and the Paula Sooter Memorial Award.

McCrillis took home first place and top points model car for her customized 2012 Camaro.

The McGarrahs took home first place and top points early model truck for their 1971 Chevy truck.

The Whortons took home first place and Committee's Choice for their 1971 Chevy Nova.

Third place winners follow: John Stricklin, Pierce City, 1986 Olds Cutlass; Mike Cornielson, Cassville, 1956 Ford semi-late stock car; Reid and Sandra Alexander, Lamar, 1966 Ford F-100; Chris Carver, Purdy, 1969 VW powered fiberglass dune buggy; Michael Hamilton, Seneca, 1987 Mazda RX7; Larry Aeverman, Cassville, VW powered home built V-rod; Wayne Sooter, Pierce City, 1964 Chevy Impala SS; Duane Fessler, Eagle Rock, 1984 Lincoln Continental MK VII; and Wayne Sooter, 1983 V-8 S-10 pickup truck.

Second place winners were: Donnie Woolaway, Rocky Comfort, 1971 Ford F-100; Norbert and Rosemary LeHar, Neosho, 1997 Corvette; Jim Corns, Golden, 1935 Chevy Delux sedan; Bud and Jackie Vance, Duenweg, 1946 Ford Coupe; Larry Lewis Glaze, Carthage, 1940 Plymouth coupe Road King; Mick and Nita Martin, Republic, 1995 Chevy Silverado; Linda Woods, Aurora, 2001 Mustang Mach 1; Wilburn Riddell, Monett, 1956 Chevy truck; Mike Peachee, Garfield, Ark., 2008 Ford Mustang; Dickie Sopok, Springfield, 1991 Chevy Camaro; Bill Long, Monett, 1991 Corvette; Glenn Fields, Wentworth, 1957 Ford Thunderbird; Nick and Karen Crouch, Diamond, 2000 Corvette; Spencer Bowman, Billings, 1973 Ford F-100; Duane Fessler, Eagle Rock, 2007 Saturn; Robert and Sharon Houser, Galena, Kan., 1957 Studebaker truck; Dan Reitan, Springfield, 1966 Chevy Malibu convertible; Cory Hartman, Monett, 1964 Impala; Charles and Norman Venable, Neosho, 1952 Chevy Delux and 1953 camper; Chester Ratliff, Miami, Okla., 1970 Torino convertible; John Emburey, Wheaton, 1967 Fairlane 500; Ed and Carol Buck, Joplin, 1973 Plymouth Satellite Sebring Plus; Galen Higgins, Joplin, 1923 T Bucket Roadster; and Jack Lowe, Cassville, 1970 Mustang.

First place winners included: Wayne Bruffey, Everton, custom 1957 Chevrolet Bel Air; Polly McCrillis, Wentworth, 2012 Camaro; Bob and Arlene McGarrah, Cave Springs, Ark., 1971 Chevy truck; Rod and Shawna Whorton, Neosho, 1971 Chevy Nova; Bill Pemberton, Independence, 1972 Hurst Olds; Dave Walters, Shell Knob, 1932 Ford 3-window coupe; Duard Maybee, Elm Springs, 1968 Camaro SS; Roger Bandy, Monett, 1968 Corvette; Fred Peck, Clever, 1955 Chevy 210 Del Ray; Larry Daniels, Cassville, 1969 Camaro; Sam Hill, Nixa, 2001 Corvette; Cleet and Barbara Pattyson, Joplin, 1969 Dodge Super Bee; Charles Prichett, Marionville, 1980 Corvette; Dwayne Holmberg, Golden, 1936 Chevy 2-door street rod; John Welstein, Joplin, 1934 Ford truck; Don Erickson, Shell Knob, 1966 Barracuda; John Dorman, Joplin, 2008 Corvette, John and Ruth Verbrugge, Eagle Rock, 2008 Mustang GT500KR; Charles Koehler, Joplin, 1955 Chevrolet Nomad wagon; Troy Lowe, Cassville, 1950 Plymouth Special Deluxe; Charles Watkins, Webb City, 1958 Chevrolet Impala; mike Henderson, Monett, 1967 Camaro; Kenneth Gauthian, Monett, 1948 Chevy Fleetmaster; Don Tranthan, Elkland, 1972 Chevy Nova; and John Stokes, Eagle Rock, 1956 Chevy Truck.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: