CHS holds 55th annual NHS induction event

Wednesday, May 1, 2013
Democrat Photo/Lindsay Reed New NHS members Cassville High School inducted 17 students into the Clara Astra Chapter of National Honor Society on April 24. New CHS NHS members are pictured above. In the front row, from left, are: TJ Matthews, Kayleb Sparks, Connor Redmon, Stone Phelps, Marcus Weatherman and Caleb Clere. Second row: Taisha Horrocks, Jerrica Russell, Emily Brewer, Nicole Bouzek, Kristeen Albert and Mikala Deffenbaugh. Third row: Brianna Wiertsema, Rhiannon Miller, Cassidy Larson, Mariah Willard and Lindsay Lawson.

The Cassville High School National Honor Society (NHS) Clara Astra Chapter recognized 17 students during its 55th annual induction ceremony on April 24.

Briana Robertson, current CHS NHS president, presided over the ceremony, which was held in the high school gymnasium last Wednesday. After each new inductee was escorted into the gym, Wil LeCompte, vice president, presented a brief history of the organization, which was founded in 1921.

Jacob Clere, secretary, shared the importance of NHS, which is designed to promote enthusiasm for scholarship, stimulate service and promote character and leadership.

CHS Principal Chris Redmon administered the NHS oath to inductees Kristeen Albert, Nicole Bouzek, Emily Brewer, Caleb Clere, Mikala Deffenbaugh, Taisha Horrocks, Cassidy Larson, Lindsay Lawson, Thornton Matthews, Rhiannon Miller, Stone Phelps, Connor Redmon, Jerrica Russell, Kayleb Sparks, Marcus Weatherman, Brianna Wiertsema and Mariah Willard.

Trevor McClintock passed the candle of scholarship to Deffenbaugh, and Chantel Martin presented the candle of service to Lawson. Skylar Lowe invited Albert to light the candle of leadership, and Jennifer Allison passed the candle of character to Russell.

Current CHS NHS officers also recognized their successors. Officers for the 2013-14 school year will include: Caleb Clere, secretary; Willard, vice president; and Brewer, president.

Current CHS NHS members are: Allison, Samantha Borushaski, Paighton Brock, Jacob Clere, Keisha Corn, Cody Frana, Andrew Henbest, Hannah Herbert, Deborah Kern, LeCompte, Lowe, Martin, McClintock, Courtney Parnell, Ricky Williams, Walker Perez, Samantha Robb, Robertson, Logan Scott, Lora Weathers, Christina Willard and Callie Woods.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: