E-911 dispatching team honored

Wednesday, April 24, 2013
Democrat Photo/Lindsay Reed Telecommunicator of the Year Barry County E-911 Executive Director Mike Phillips presented dispatcher Eddie Laning with the 2012 Telecommunicator of the Year Award on April 20. Laning was nominated and selected for the award by his peers.

Last week, the Barry County E-911 Operations Center celebrated National Telecommunicator Week with a special open house event on Friday. A barbecue and awards ceremony was held to honor the E-911 dispatching team on Saturday.

During the awards ceremony, Mike Phillips, Barry County E-911 director, named Eddie Laning as the 2012 Telecommunicator of the Year.

"This award is decided by your peers," said Phillips. "Some of the things they said about this year's winner were: takes on additional duties; works with everyone to sharpen their skills; always lends a hand and covers shifts; went over and above on developing the website; approachable; and makes a fun learning environment."

Democrat Photo/Lindsay Reed Team of the Year Barry County E-911 Operations Center dispatchers Janell Watkins and Susan Carroll received the Missouri National Emergency Number Association's 2013 Team of the Year Award. The women were recognized for dispatching services offered during the response to the apartment fire in Wheaton that claimed five lives. Pictured above, from left, are: Watkins and Carroll.

In addition to the Telecommunicator of the Year Award, Laning was presented with the Most Calls Handled Award and the Sickest Sense of Humor Award. Laning handled 3,894 calls from April of 2012 through April of 2013.

Janell Brattin received the Best Attitude Award for the second consecutive year. Tony Hinkle, who received the 2011 Telecommunicator of the Year Award, was honored for working the most overtime and taking the least amount of overtime. This is the second year that Hinkle received the special recognition.

Phillips presented several other awards during the ceremony. Those awards included: outstanding rehire and best sense of humor, Janell Watkins; craziest telecommunicator, Hinkle; blooper of the year, Lisa Swader; best radio voice, Stewart Lombard; and person I would most like to work with, Carrie Jabben.

Susan Carroll received honorable mention for the 2012 Telecommunicator of the Year Award, and Carroll and Watkins were recognized for receiving the State of the Missouri Team of the Year Award from the Missouri National Emergency Association and the Missouri Association of Public Safety Communications Officials Board during the state conference on March 19. Carroll and Watkins were honored for their response during the fire that claimed five lives at an apartment building in Wheaton in November of 2012.

"I am honored to work with this team because they are true professionals that do a great job every day," said Phillips. "They are always working at improving and learning new skills to be the best that they can be. In this fast-paced profession that is constantly changing, that is an asset."

Phillips presented each dispatcher with a headset case, a honorary pin and a travel mug. Award winners also received gift certificates and gift items donated by local businesses.

Sponsors for this year's honorary ceremony included: Security Bank; Rusty and Staci Dilbeck; the Titanic Museum in Branson; Walmart; Flat Creek Xpress Lube; Interact and Paul Clark; and Jim Fohn.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: