Write-in candidates win elections

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Barry County Clerk Gary Youngblood has released the names of the write-in candidates who tallied enough votes in the April 2 general election to win elected positions. No candidates were listed on the ballot for the positions.

TJ White garnered the most write-in votes in Tuesday's election and earned a seat on the Purdy Fire Protection District Board. White tallied 28 write-in votes.

Seligman residents elected Ron Corn as an east ward alderman through write-in votes. Corn earned 12 votes. Other write-in candidates were: Danny Hendrix, who received five votes; and Dustin Mabry, who earned four votes.

Washburn voters elected Jack Cargile as a west ward alderman by giving him three write-in votes. Butch Wilson, Jeremy Johnson, Ray Hayworth and Ken West also received one write-in vote each.

Dale Stewart was elected as the Ash Road District commissioner. He received 18 write-in votes on April 2.

The following candidates also received write-in votes for the Ash Road District position: Dave Dalton, three; Gene Cargile, two; Karen Cypret, James Townsend, Shelly Ickes, Ralph Hendrix, Jerry Henry and Bill Townsend, one each.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: