R-4 Board selects architect, project manager for high school safe room

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

The Cassville R-4 School Board selected Visionary Grant Group and Paragon Architecture for project management and architecture services associated with the high school FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) safe room project during a special meeting on March 26.

The district also received an architecture proposal from Patterson, Latimer, Jones, Bannon, Denham Architecture.

"The other architecture firm was very qualified, and we were happy to receive their proposal," said Superintendent Richard Asbill. "We decided to go with Paragon, who is doing our current FEMA project, because they have been very receptive to our ideas and needs.

"We really like what Paragon has brought to the table," continued Asbill. "We felt we would have a seamless transition to the next project with Paragon."

The district is also already working with Visionary Grant Group on the current FEMA building project, which is being completed on the R-4 campus northwest of the Cassville Middle School gymnasium.

"FEMA projects are fairly extensive with the other requirements," said Asbill. "Visionary Grant Group will manage the project, the funds and the reimbursements."

Visionary Grant Group will also ensure the district meets compliance requirements and submits reports to FEMA in a timely manner.

As the district prepares for the second FEMA building project, which will be completed on the Cassville High School campus, crews will begin locating utilities and completing surveys of the two proposed sites.

"In April, we will begin working on conceptual drawings and floor plans, and looking at options for how we could use the space," said Asbill. "We hope to submit the high school FEMA building designs by June or July."

After the building design plans are approved, the district will move into phase two of the project, which will include advertising for bids for the construction of the building.

During the special meeting, the board also hired two new intermediate school teachers and approved a list of certified staff members for the 2013-14 school year.

The new intermediate school teachers are Jamie Culp, fifth grade teacher, and Whitley Alberson, third grade teacher.

Certified staff members returning next school year include: Michelle Allder, Michelle Bright, Julie Chappell, Samantha Cosper, Savannah Essary, Patty Ewing, Scott Frederickson, Sheryl Fuchs, Mary Hagens, Jimmy Hinson, Andrw Hoskins, Ron Hudson, Janelle Hurn, Catina Johnson, Kelin Kruse, Kathleen Lassau, Tina Mills, Stephanie Montez, Jennifer Nichols, Jill Poulson, Danny Powers, Eric Robb, Joseph Schmitz, Shelley Sparkman, Chelsea Swadley, Dionne Wilson, Gery Wilson.

Rob Bredeson, Loura Etter, Derek Judd, Mandi Lyall, Melody Phillips, Jo Ellen Fielding, Tyne Rabourn, Ben Abramovitz, Kari Asbill, Connie Bishop, Julie Brewer, Sherri Brooks, Angela Brown, Gretchen Bussman, Alene Campbell, Connie Christen, Amy Cole, Joyce Cook, Priscilla Craig, Jill Crawford, Miranda Cupit, Debra Curnes, Charla Curry, Anne Dalton, Patti Daniels, Bob Deffenbaugh, Julie Dillow, Ann Ellis, Leslie Ermey, Jewel Farwell.

Donna Fazzini, Janet Fisher, Sandy Fitzpatrick, Mindi Gates, Evelyn Gieske, Gayle Green, Michael Hall, Jennifer Hanson, Michelle Harvey, Becky Haynes, Branden Heiden, Tina Hemphill, Shelley Henderson, Amanda Henry, Christy Hermansen, Janna Hightower, Lisa Hoffman, Kaye Hughes, Tina Jackson, Christopher Kell, Janet Kice, Arenda Kief, Sally Knight, David Large, Kristen Large, Leisa Lasley, Donna Lawson, Rick Lawson, Stephanie Marple, Jennifer McCrackin, Kay McCullah, Janet McNeill, Stephanie Mebruer, Wendy Miekley, Kevin Miller, Jacque Morris.

Ann Nickle, Cathy Nunley, Telisha Padilla, Lance Parnell, Suzy Parnell, Jennifer Pendergraft, Treslyn Pollreisz, Darlene Post, Kristie Preddy, Michelle Ramaeker, Ben Reuter, Darren Rhea, Shari Rhea, Donna Richards, Mary Richmiller, Jay Rogers, Connie Rose, Maria San Paolo, Lisa Schell, Chris Shore, Scott Stringer, Wilma Swofford, Misty Truman, Tonya Varner, Melissa Vollenweider, Clay Weldy, Travis Wells, Pam White, Tammi Wilkes, Jennifer Willis, Kami Willis, Tammy Wilson, Kyle Wood, Marolyn Wood and Donna Youngblood.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: