School board members to be recognized

Wednesday, January 16, 2013

Missourians benefit every day from the dedicated energies and countless hours devoted by a group of more than 3,600 men and women in every community across the state. Local school board members are public servants elected by local constituents, and they do not receive compensation for their tireless efforts.

"It is a pleasure to work with the board of education who put our students and community needs to have the best school possible as their first priority," said Cassville Superintendent Richard Asbill. "Our board members are extremely dedicated to reviewing our school needs and setting priorities that create an outstanding school district.

"The Cassville R-4 Board of Education continues to develop plans and work with school employees to be progressive in developing outstanding programs to promote success for all our students," continued Asbill. "In addition, the board members have shown a great dedication to represent our parents and communities to help reflect our patron expectations."

During the week of Jan. 20 through Jan. 26, communities across the state will honor the dedicated service of local boards of education during School Board Recognition Week, as proclaimed by Governor Jay Nixon. All Missouri citizens are asked to recognize the important contributions of these men and women and focus attention on the vital role these public officials play in the education of Missouri's children.

Local board members who serve the public schools located in Barry County are listed below with their years of service.

Cassville R-4 School Board: John Sullivan, 25 years; Greg Allen, 18 years; David Haddock, nine years; Hal Smith, six years; Becky Henningson, five years; Carolyn Bowen, four years; and Jon Horner, two years.

Purdy R-2 School Board: Ronnie Veith, 10 years; Randy Henderson, nine years; Mike Bennett, seven years; Russ Neill, seven years; Tracy Tate, five years; Ken Terry, three years; and Ed Mareth, two years.

Exeter R-6 School Board: Sammy Hudson, 13 years; Eric O'Neill, six years; Kerry Mattingly, five years; Brad Porter, three years; Gary Stringer, two years; Larry Meyer, two years; and Mitch Sorensen, one year.

Shell Knob School Board: Bob Stewart, 22 years; Lisa Fielder, seven years; Rusty Rickard, five years; Howard Trimble, five years; Roger Pinnell, four years; Jonathan Gray, two years; and Jackie Backes, one year.

Southwest R-5 School Board: Robert Shockley, 12 years; Robert Catron, 11 years; Danny Dalton, 10 years; Albert Pendergraft, eight years; Bobby Stephens, six years; Jeremy Bernard, five years; and Pete Rose, five years.

Wheaton R-3 School Board: Doug Goostree, nine years; Larry Prewitt, nine years; Bobby Banks, eight years; Kendall Haynes, eight years; Dan Goostree, seven years; Lewis Royer, seven years; and Landon Brattin, six years.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: