Monett lass is first baby of 2013

Wednesday, January 9, 2013
Photo submitted by Janell Patton First baby Sophia Marie Shideler, pictured above with proud parents, Taren and Leah Shideler, of Monett, is the First Baby of 2013. Sophia was born at Cox Monett Hospital at 3:31 p.m. on New Year's Day. She weighed six pounds, 11 ounces and was 20 and one-quarter inches long.

Barry County's first baby of 2013 arrived at Cox Monett Hospital at 3:31 p.m. on New Year's Day. Sophia Marie Shideler is the daughter of Taren and Leah Shideler, of Monett.

The little lass weighed six pounds and 11 ounces and measured 20 and one-quarter inches. She will be welcomed home by five-year-old twin brothers, Ashton and Skiler.

As the first baby born in 2013, Sophia has won the annual First Baby Contest sponsored by the Cassville Democrat and participating businesses.

This year's prizes and sponsors include: a $50 gift card from Fastrip; a blanket from Whitley Pharmacy; a $50 savings bond from First State Bank; a surprise package from the Cassville First Baptist Church; special gifts from Tomblin's, Freedom Bank, Barry Electric Cooperative, Designs by Debbie, Walmart, Ball and Prier Tire and Security Bank; and a baby book and one-year free newspaper subscription from the Cassville Democrat.

Sophia is the Cassville Democrat's 18th First Baby Contest winner.

Previous first babies include: Jace Parker Horn, 2012; Dimitrius Mikhil Conlan Blair, 2011; Wesley Yang Kooj Hang, Wheaton, 2010; Benjamin Rylie Corn, Seligman, 2009; Dominic Allan Lee Birchfield, Washburn, 2008; Jagger Lynne Miller, Cassville, 2007; Cosmo Kent Rhoads, Cassville, 2006; Kallistha Cabico Manuel Morrow, Monett, 2005.

Ryan Alan Lawrence, Seligman, 2004; Robert Chisum Massey, Exeter, 2003; Andrew Joel Prier, Golden, 2002; Devon Lee Clevenger, Exeter, 2001; Sky Millenium Dill, Cassville, 2000; Jose Raymundo Castillo, Jr., Exeter, 1999; Kyle Blake Martin, Cassville, 1998; Levi Raymond Clevenger, Purdy, 1997; and Jacob Scott Hall, Cassville, 1996.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: