Few candidates file on opening day

Wednesday, December 12, 2012

Very few candidates signed up for the April 2013 municipal and school board elections on Tuesday, the opening day of the filing period. Only four incumbents and two new candidates have filed for the spring elections.

Incumbents Greg Allen and Hal Smith have filed for re-election to the Cassville R-4 School Board. They are both seeking new three-year terms on the board.

Purdy School Board member Ed Mareth has also announced a bid for re-election. Although the other R-2 Board incumbent Tracy Tate has not filed yet, a new candidate, Todd Schallert, has filed for a seat on the board.

A single candidate has filed for a seat on the Southwest R-5 School Board. Brian Robbins filed late Tuesday afternoon. Incumbents Robert Shockley and Bobby Stephens have not yet re-filed.

No candidates have filed for seats on the Exeter, Wheaton or Shell Knob School Boards.

The following candidates will be leaving their posts if they do not file for re-election: Eric O'Neill and Brad Porter, Exeter R-6 School Board; Dan Goostree and Kendall Haynes, Wheaton R-3 School Board; and Rusty Rickard and Johnathan Gray, Shell Knob School Board.

Municipal elections

Of the seven local municipal races, only one has attracted candidates for the spring election.

Seligman Mayor Jason Raucstadt has filed for a new two-year term. Fellow council members Danny Joe Hendrix, east ward alderman, and Eric Freeman, west ward alderman, have not yet filed for re-election.

The Seligman race has attracted one new candidate. Roy Carrothers has filed for the west ward alderman seat.

City of Cassville residents will decide races for mayor and aldermen this spring. Current Mayor Bill Shiveley, North Ward Alderman Ann Hennigan and South Ward Alderman Jeff Parsons will leave the council if they do not file for re-election.

Purdy residents will decide four races this spring. Mayor Ron Dustra and Aldermen Wayne Rupp and Steve Roden are up for re-election. Voters will also fill the seat that was formerly held by Sean Priest, who resigned due to moving out of the city.

Other council members up for re-election in April of 2013 are: Washburn Mayor John Tiedeman, East Ward Aldermen Mary Roller and Amanda Crim and West Ward Alderman Pat Rose; Butterfield West Ward Alderman Guadalupe Meza, and East Ward Alderman Mark Thomas; and Exeter Mayor Rusty Reed, South Ward Alderman Rhonda Scott and North Ward Alderman Jim Morse.

The City of Wheaton's filing information was not available at press time.

Filing for the municipal and school board offices opened on Dec. 11. Candidates must file for the election by Jan. 15, 2013. The election is scheduled to be held on April 2, 2013.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: