Wheaton takes 14th at state cross-country meet

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

The Wheaton Lady Bulldogs placed 14th in the Class 1 girls' division of the MSHSAA State Cross-Country Championships at Jefferson City's Oak Hills course on Nov. 3

Salisbury earned the Class 1 title, scoring 54 points. Plato's Lexi McNeil was the champion, running 20:27.85. Crane's Lexie Vaught, a freshman, placed sixth in 21:58.05.

Wheatons's Chase Burns placed 83rd in 24:31.59, Brittany Harmon placed 102nd in 25:02.07, Haley Beck was 141st, in 26:54.45, Hli Yang placed 147th in 28:54.73, Anastasia Lowry placed 149th in 28:59.86 and Krista Dunegan placed 160th in 35:31.14.

Class 1 girls trophy teams were: Salisbury, Russellville, Plato and Elsberry.

West Platte won the Class 1 boys' race with a score of 87. Crane senior Thomas Chabracek finished second in 16:49.79 behind Tyler Rush, of Linn, and the Crane Pirates finished seventh in the team race.

Wheaton's Jonathan Sherwood placed 53rd in 18:56.44.

Class 1 Boys trophy teams were: West Platte, Linn, Sparta and Valle Catholic.

Class 2

The Lamar Tigers, the Big 8 Conference champions, raced to a state title.

The Tigers, led by Kaden Overstreet's second place finish, scored 69 points. Springfield Catholic placed seventh in team scoring.

Class 2 boys trophy teams were: Lamar, Herculaneum, Fatima and Ava.

Kaitlyn Fischer, of Herculaneum, won the Class 2 girls' race in 18:40.97, and her Wildcats won the team title with 89 points.

Kelly Devlin, of Springfield Catholic, placed eighth. East Newton's Emily Sorrell finished 11th.

The Springfield Catholic girls narrowly missed a trophy, placing fifth.

Class 2 Girls trophy teams were: Herculaneum, Arcadia Valley, Lutheran (St. Peters) and Stockton.

Class 3

In Class 3 boys, Amos Bartlesmeyer, of MICDS, was the champion, running 16:24.98. Festus took the team title with 58 points. McDonald County placed 10th.

Michael Morley, of Monett, finished 99th in 18:44.46.

Class 3 boys trophy teams were: Festus, Warrensburg, Liberrty North and MICDS

Taylor Werner, a freshman, won the Class 3 girls' race in 18:19.18 and led Ste. Genevieve to the team title. McDonald County finished 13th.

Monett's Grace Cloud placed 133rd in 23:08.36.

Class 3 girls' trophy teams were: Ste. Genevieve, Festus, Smithville and Villa Duchesne.

Class 4

Simon Belete, a Blue Springs senior, had the fastest time of the day, winning the Class 4 boys' race in 15:48.16.

Glendale's Chris Mooneyham and Spencak Haik finished second and third respectively, also breaking the 16-minute barrier. St. Louis University High won the team race with 98 points.

Class 4 boys trophy teams were: SLUH, Blue Springs, Lafayette and West Plains.

Eureka's Hannah Long was the fastest girl in Saturday's races, taking the Class 4 crown in 18:06.91. Francis Howell scored 81 to take the team title. Nixa and West Plains finished 15th and 16th respectively.

Class 4 girls trophy teams were: Francis Howell, Eureka, St. Teresa's Academy and Lee's Summit West.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: