Cassville dominates All-Big 8 football honors

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

The Cassville Wildcats football team secured 18 spots on the All-Big 8 Conference team.

Hayden Prater was selected as the Big 8's Defensive Player of the Year, and David Large picked up Coach of the Year honors.

Logan Scott, Josh Carlton, Braiden Vaught, Drew Henbest, Cody Frana, Hayden Prater, Ty Craig, Garrett Kirk, Stone Phelps, Bradley Lueckenhoff were named to the All-Big 8 first team, and Phelps, Chris Dunker, Garrett Kirk, Jake Sizemore were chosen for the second team. Trevor Carney and Brent Thompson received honorable mention recognition.

The entire All-Big 8 team is listed below.

First team

Tight end: Sam Bailey, Lamar; and Logan Scott, Cassville.

Tackle:Austin Boice, Lamar; and Reece Bounous, Monett.

Guard: Ben Bailey, Lamar; and Josh Carlton, Cassville.

Center: Justin Frieden, Lamar,

Wide receiver: Kurran Blaney, Monett; Matt Magee, Carl Junction; and Jalen Skaggs, Seneca.

Quarterback: Levi Petterson, Lamar.

Running back: Everett Basham, Aurora; Jared Beshore, Lamar; Aaron Hall, Monett; and Shane Williams, Mt. Vernon.

All-purpose back: Braxton Graham, Seneca.

Defensive end:Reese Bounous, Monett; JT Tucker, Lamar; and Braiden Vaught, Cassville.

Defensive tackle: Brandon Eaves, Lamar; and Drew Henbest, Cassville.

Linebacker: Everett Basham, Aurora; Cody Frana, Cassville; Jake Morgan, Lamar; Matt Murphy, Monett; and Hayden Prater, Cassville.

Defensive back: Kurran Blamey, Monett; Ty Craig, Cassville; Garrett Kirk, Cassville; Brett McDonald, Lamar; and Shane Williams, Mt. Vernon.

Punter:Stone Phelps, Cassville.
Kicker:Bradley Lueckenhoff, Cassville.

Returner: Braxton Graham, Seneca; and Matt Magee, Carl Junction.

Offensive Player of the Year: Jared Beshore, Lamar.

Defensive Player of the Year: Hayden Prater, Cassville.

Big 8 Coach of the Year: David Large, Cassville.

Second team

Tight end: Zane Phillips, Mt. Vernon.

Tackle:Dalton Cloven, Carl Junction; and Brett Roark, Seneca.

Guard: Devin Madison, Seneca; and Tyler Richardson, Mt. Vernon.

Center:Mac Yust, Seneca.

Wide receiver: Andrew Parker, Aurora; Stone Phelps, Cassville; and Chance Smith, Seneca.

Quarterback: Payton Rawlins, Seneca.

Running back:Chris Dunker, Cassville; Marty Mailes, Seneca; and Nick Thompson, Carl Junction.

All-purpose back: Garrett Kirk, Cassville.

Defensive end: Josh McCulloch, Aurora; and Mac Yust, Seneca.

Defensive tackle: Montana Cooper, Seneca; andJake Sizemore, Cassville.

Linebacker: Calvin Bremmerkamp, Carl Junction; Korbin Carlson, Carl Junction; Rocky Liveoak, East Newton; Marty Mailes, Seneca; Kaden Schader, Seneca; and Dominic Swillum, Mt. Vernon.

Defensive back: Braxton Graham, Seneca; Kurt Hadlow, Aurora; Matt Magee, Carl Junction; and Jalen Skaggs, Seneca.

Punter:Keenan Bagley, Lamar.
Kicker:Reece Tholen, Carl Junction.

Returner: Mark Barlett, Lamar.

Honorable mention

Tight end:Devon Overall, Monett.

Tackle: Jimmy Keutzer, Lamar; and Payton Meeks, Mt. Vernon.

Guard:Clint Bray, East Newton; and Matt Wentz, Monett.

Center: Trevor Carney, Cassville.

Wide receiver: Brandon Abbott, East Newton; Denton Thomas, Mt. Vernon; and J Thomas, Carl Junction.

Quarterback: Dustin Satterlee, Carl Junction.

Running back:Ian Plemmans, East Newton; and Brent Thompson, Cassville.

All-purpose back: Cedric Gartman, Lamar.

Defensive end: Alex Sheppart, East Newton.

Defensive tackle: Dez Bradford, Monett; and Dallas Doyle, Lamar.

Linebacker: Zack Justice, Mt. Vernon; Dalen Merriman, Seneca; Devon Overall, Monett; and Chad Rice, Lamar.

Defensive back Tyler Bass, Monett; Landon Compton, Lamar; Tyler Ng, Seneca; and Denton Thomas, Mt. Vernon.

Punter: Dima Spellman, Mt. Vernon.

Kicker:Ben Bailey, Lamar.
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: