Annual CCTA reception held

Wednesday, May 23, 2012
Friends of Education Democrat Photo/Lindsay Reed Kristy Preddy, Cassville Primary School counselor, recognized Brian Hendrix and Joe Luney with Friends of Education Awards during the Cassville Community Teachers Association Banquet on May 16. Hendrix and Luney dedicate countless hours each year to pack and distribute backpacks to students to the primary school's backpack program. Volunteer hours recorded by Hendrix and Luney also allow the district to receive grant funding for the program, which provides students with backpacks full of food to ensure nutritional needs are met when children are away from school. Pictured above, from left, are: Hendrix, Preddy and Luney.

Cassville R-4 School District Superintendent Richard Asbill announced the 2012 technology grant recipients at the Cassville Community Teachers Association (CCTA) reception, which was held in the Cassville High School commons area on May 16.

A portion of the district's technology grant funding was awarded to the Cassville Primary School.

"All kindergarten, first and second grade classrooms will be SMART Board ready," said Asbill.

The remaining technology funding was awarded to Cassville High School. The money will be used to meet technology needs as determined by high school Principal Chris Redmon.

Asbill also gave an update on the district's one-to-one technology initiative, which will include the following improvements: an increase in the district's fiber optic capacity from 10 to 100 megabytes; a wireless network that will expand throughout the primary, intermediate, middle and high schools; and the replacement of all primary school teachers' desktop computers with laptops.

"Like Jim Orrell before me, I have been skeptical of the one-to-one technology initiative," said Asbill. "We need to thank the eMINTS teachers for paving the way."

Asbill also announced a one-to-one technology pilot program that will be implemented at Cassville Middle School next year. The middle school students, who helped pilot the eMINTS program with teachers Maria San Paolo, Wendy Miekley and Stephanie Mebruer will be the first group of students to receive one-to-one technology next year.

"We need a great deal of preparation on how we will design the program to meet needs and provide students with more enrichment," said Asbill. "Teaching and learning will have to advance. We will provide students with a different learning opportunity with the use of technology in order to give the skills they need to compete globally in the future."

Asbill also spoke briefly about the FEMA storm shelter project, Missouri School Improvement Plan (MSIP) 5 and budget concerns for the 2012-13 school year.

"We're not worried, though," said Asbill. "We're Cassville R-4. We have the best students, the best teachers and the best school, and we will take care of things on a daily basis."

Several awards, honors and scholarships were also presented during the CCTA reception.

Redmon presented the 2011 Young Educator of the Year Award to Kelin Kruse, high school ag instructor, and the 2011 Teacher of the Year Award to Janet McNeill, high school communication arts teacher.

Greg Allen, Cassville R-4 School Board vice president, presented a scholarship award to Rob Bredeson, second grade teacher.

Kristy Preddy, elementary school counselor, recognized Joe Luney and Brian Hendrix with a Friends of Education Award. The men assist with the primary school backpack program.

Terry Jamieson, middle school principal, also recognized Mike and Debbie Ball as Friends of Education for sponsoring the Cassville Middle School Anthology.

Retiring staff members were also recognized during the event. They were: Joe Cavness, director of operations; Sue Cavness, first grade teacher; Rod Hemphill, middle school teacher; and Sheila Parnell, instructional assistant.

The 2011-12 school year CCTA officers are: Patti Daniels, president; Roxie Harmon, vice president; Amy Cole, secretary; Patty Ewing, treasurer; Jennifer Hanson, membership chair; Connie Rose, primary school representative; Wilma Swofford, intermediate school representative; Jennifer Pendergraft, middle school representative; and Julie Dillow, high school representative.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: