Class, district assignments are announced

Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Class and district assignments for football and classification breaks for basketball were announced Saturday by the Missouri State High School Activities Association (MSHSAA).

Not much movement will occur in Barry and Lawrence counties for this fall's football season.

Class 3 football is comprised of 64 schools with an enrollment range of 426 to 701. Monett and Cassville's enrollment numbers left them both in Class 3.

The biggest news was the finalization of the new eight-team districts.

The new system will see every team qualify for a single elimination district tournament, much like basketball, baseball and volleyball.

Several familiar opponents comprise the new Class 3, District 4 pod, which includes Monett, Cassville, Mt. Vernon, Aurora, East Newton, Seneca, Hollister and Reeds Spring.

Pierce City will still be a Class 1 football program. Class 1 is comprised of 64 schools with an enrollment range of 80 to 239 students.

Joining the Eagles in the Class 1, District 2 pod are Greenfield, Jasper, Liberal, Miller, McAuley, Marionville and Lockwood.

McAuley had previously been a Class 2 school but a move to Class 1 came after it dissolved its cooperative sponsorship with College Heights Christian Academy.

The district's teams will be seeded one through eight based on a points system in the regular season to determine first-round playoff pairings. The district winner will earn a spot in the state quarterfinal.


Pierce City will move from Class 3 to Class 2 in the basketball classification chart. The Eagles will be one of the largest Class 2 schools. Southwest remained in Class 3, a mere eight students from going down a classification.

District opponents for basketball will be announced on Sept. 21.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: