Annual Shell Knob Chamber dinner held

Wednesday, March 21, 2012
Business Persons of the Year Marcia and Rick Perkins received the Shell Knob Chamber of Commerce's 2011 Business Persons of the Year Award at the chamber's annual membership dinner on March 10. In the photo above, Rusty Rickard, outgoing chamber president, presents the Perkins with the honor.

Community members donned cowboy hats and boots and western shirts for the Shell Knob Chamber of Commerce's annual membership dinner, which was held at the Shell Knob/Viola Community Building on March 10.

"We had excellent member support," said Sheila House, Shell Knob Chamber of Commerce executive director. "We showed off the newly remodeled Shell Knob/Viola Community building, and the food was wonderful.

"My favorite part is always the awards," said House. "This is a community made up of people with a volunteer spirit, and many folks are deserving of recognition."

The Shell Knob Chamber presented two community members and one business with honorary awards this year. Marcia and Rick Perkins, owners of Paradise Cove Camping Resort, received the 2011 Business Persons of the Year Award, and Melissa Graham and Judy Reynolds were presented with 2011 Community Service Awards.

"This year was particularly special because all three recipients were genuinely surprised," said House. "I enjoy watching people's faces as they figure out they are the ones receiving the honor.

"It is delightful to watch hard working, genuine people, who take on volunteer tasks year-after-year for no reason other than community spirit, get a good healthy pat on the back," added House.

Marcia and Rick Perkins were selected as Business Persons of the Year in honor of the generous donation they made to the 2011 Shakin' in the Shell Fest. The couple also supports numerous other activities in the Shell Knob community.

Graham and Reynolds were recognized for the service they have provided during countless chamber activities over the last 18 years.

Dale Peters, John Peters and Steve Roney provided musical entertainment for the event, and Jim Fohn catered the barbecue meal.

During the dinner, House took a few moments to speak about the past year and say thank you to all of the volunteers who assisted with chamber activities.

Rusty Rickard, outgoing chamber president, introduced Eddie Davison, who gave the invocation, and Roger Pinnell, incoming chamber president.

Other incoming board members recognized during the event were: Debbie Vawter, vice president; Reynolds, secretary and treasurer; Graham; Pat Bingley; Vicki Shaffer; Howard Trimble; Dave Fielder; John Coonrod; Dawn Forsythe; and Rickard.

Graham oversaw the decor for this year's membership dinner. Table decorations were donated by area businesses.

View 1 comment
Note: The nature of the Internet makes it impractical for our staff to review every comment. Please note that those who post comments on this website may do so using a screen name, which may or may not reflect a website user's actual name. Readers should be careful not to assign comments to real people who may have names similar to screen names. Refrain from obscenity in your comments, and to keep discussions civil, don't say anything in a way your grandmother would be ashamed to read.
  • Marcia Perkins Dog Killer of many dogs

    -- Posted by LizStrickland on Sun, Apr 1, 2018, at 3:46 PM
Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: