Cooperative to hold district meetings

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Marvin Phipps, Barry Electric Cooperative Board secretary, has announced that the cooperative's district membership meetings will be held on Feb. 13, 14 and 16.

During the district meetings, members nominate candidates to serve on the cooperative board of directors. The two candidates receiving the highest number of votes at each district meeting will be placed on the ballot for the election that will be held at the cooperative's 65th annual meeting in April.

The following directors terms will expire this year: John Marney, district one; Marlee Edie, district two; and Richard Asbill, district three.

Members of district one will have the opportunity to nominate candidates for the board of directors on Monday, Feb. 13. The district one meeting will be held at the Exeter Fire Station.

District two members will meet at the Barry Electric Cooperative headquarters, located at 4015 Main St. in Cassville, on Feb. 16, and members of district three will meet at the Cassville Golf Course clubhouse on Highway 112 south of Cassville on Feb. 14.

All of the district meetings are scheduled to begin at 7 p.m.

Barry Electric Cooperative's current board of directors includes: Dr. David Cupps, president; Marney, vice president; Marvin Phipps, secretary and treasurer; and Edie, Asbill, David Dalton, Ray Manley, Glen Craig and Lewis Royer, directors.

The cooperative's annual meeting will be held at the First Baptist Church Family Life Center in Cassville at 1 p.m. on April 12.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: