Elections attract more candidates

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

With only one week left to file for the upcoming elections, area municipalities and school boards have attracted 10 new candidates. Nearly two dozen incumbents have also announced candidacy for the upcoming election.

This year's school board elections have attracted five new names. Incumbents at five of the six local school districts have also filed for re-election.

The Exeter School Board election has drawn four new candidates. Incumbent Sammy Hudson-Schmidt will face off against newcomers Jeff Hobbs, Gene Robbins, William Roberts and Mitch Sorensen. Exeter's other incumbent, Natalie Moseley, has not filed for re-election.

Incumbent Lisa Fielder has filed for re-election to the Shell Knob School Board. New candidate Katherine Marcum has also filed for a seat on the board. Bob Stewart, who is also an incumbent, has not filed for re-election.

Only incumbent candidates have filed for re-election to the Cassville, Southwest, Wheaton and Purdy school boards. They include: John Sullivan and Carolyn Bowen, Cassville; Robert Catron and Danny Dalton, Southwest; Doug Goostree and Bobby Banks, Wheaton; and Randy Henderson and Ken Terry, Purdy.

Municipal elections

Of the seven local municipal elections, four feature unopposed incumbents. Newcomers have filed for the Seligman, Purdy and Wheaton councils.

Seligman West Ward Alderman Kelly Payne has filed for a new two-year term. The east ward alderman race has attracted two new candidates, Ed Carrothers and Gerald Harling. Incumbent Michael Steen has not filed for re-election.

Although Rex Coffey, Purdy ward one alderman, has not filed for re-election, the election has attracted two new candidates, Ron Gray and Sean Priest. Incumbent Ken Real, ward two alderman, has filed for re-election.

Newcomer Ryan Henderson is the only candidate who has filed for the Wheaton City Council. Henderson has filed for the east ward alderman seat currently held by Donnie Pierpont, who has indicated he plans to move out of Wheaton. Stacy Beck, west ward alderman, had not refiled as of press time on Tuesday.

Terry Heinz, south ward alderman, and Darrell Ledenham, north ward alderman, have filed for new two-year terms on the Cassville City Council.

The Exeter, Butterfield and Washburn municipal races have also only attracted incumbent candidates.

Current council members who have filed for re-election include: Keith Johnson, Exeter north ward alderman; Jeff Scott, Exeter south ward alderman; Carrol Hayes, Butterfield east ward alderman; Tony Cope, Butterfield mayor; Francis Hobbs, Butterfield west ward alderman; Chloe Weathers, Washburn east ward alderman; and Gerald Hinde, Washburn west ward alderman.

Filing for municipal and school board offices will be open through Jan. 17, 2012. The election will be held on April 3, 2012.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: