More candidates file for elections

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Several more incumbents and newcomers have announced candidacy for the upcoming April municipal elections. As of Dec. 27, four new candidates and seven incumbents have filed for the spring elections.

The Cassville City Council election has still only attracted one candidate. South Ward Alderman Terry Heinz filed for re-election on Dec. 13. North Ward Alderman Darrell Ledenham has not yet filed.

Seligman West Ward Alderman Kelly Payne, who was appointed to fill a seat vacated by Latisha Pippin, has filed for another two-year term on the council. She will be joined by either Ed Carrothers or Gerald Harling if East Ward Alderman Michael Steen does not file for re-election.

Ron Gray has filed for a ward one alderman's seat on the Purdy City Council. Incumbent Ken Real, ward two alderman, has also filed for re-election. Ward one incumbent Rex Coffey has not yet filed.

Both of Exeter's incumbents Keith Johnson, north ward alderman, and Jeff Scott, south ward alderman, have filed for re-election. Butterfield East Ward Alderman Carrol Hayes and Mayor Tony Cope will also seek re-election. Butterfield West Ward Alderman Francis Hobbs has not yet filed.

Ryan Henderson has filed for an east ward alderman position on the Wheaton City Council. He will replace Donnie Pierpont, who has indicated that he plans to move from the city. Wheaton West Ward Alderman Stacy Beck has not yet filed.

No candidates have filed for seats on the Washburn City Council. Chloe Weathers, east ward alderman, and Gerald Hinde, west ward alderman, will be leaving the council if they do not file for re-election.

Filing for municipal and school board offices will be open through Jan. 17, 2012. The election will be held on April 3, 2012.

Currently, only incumbents John Sullivan and Carolyn Bowen are seeking new three-year terms on the Cassville R-4 School Board. Due to the Christmas break, updated filing information was not available from the five other southern Barry County school districts.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: